Create a Card: 8th Edition

Posted by Wendy

I’m back this week with another card – this time a little more serious. I needed a sympathy card for a friend of ours whose husband recently passed away after a long battle with cancer.  I struggle with sympathy cards so I’m glad to have found a clean and simple version that seems to say what I want. I’ll be trying this technique with my other dies.

Supplies I used:

IMG_1902

  1. Hero Arts Soft Pool Shadow Ink
  2. Scissors
  3. Tweezer Bee tweezers
  4. Hero Arts sentiment stamp
  5. Acrylic block
  6. Scor-tape
  7. Pop dots
  8. Hero Arts cardstock base
  9. Bazzill white cardstock
  10. Big Shot
  11. Memory Box Tree die

IMG_1900

Very simple card this time.  I die-cut the tree and then cut some foam dots in small strips and used the tweezers to adhere to the branches and popped it off the white card base in order to create a shadow – love that look.  Then I stamped the sentiment with the soft pool ink in the bottom right corner and adhered the panel – simple but effective I think.

Here’s the finished card:

IMG_1903

Love the shadow the popped off tree creates.  Check out this invitation Meghan made inspired by this technique:

Chloe Sample

The pop of the lighter green background is so fresh and fun!

Chloe Sample2

We are planning to make an order for Memory Box dies, so be sure to let us know if there is anything on your wish list before Friday and check out our Memory Box inspiration board on Pinterest!

Hope we’ve inspired you!

Wendy

Leave a Comment

