Dina Wakley Countdown!

Posted by Cathie Reed

I don’t know about you but I am so excited that Dina Wakley is coming to The Paperie in August.  It’s hard not to be excited when an uber talented scrapbooker, mixed media artist, product designer, author and teacher decides to travel from Arizona to The Paperie to teach {2 full days of classes}.  

I don’t know how long I’ve been following Dina but it’s been quite a while. I’m a big fan of {her blog} but if you want to know a little bit more about Dina, here are a few things you can check out. 

  1. Like {this video} where Dina shows how to make a multi-layered tag in her trademark “Dina-style” using her line of stamps and stencils at the summer CHA Tradeshow in 2012. A little birdie told me that The Paperie will soon be carrying Dina Wakley stamps – how exciting!
     
  2. Dina is also a guest panelist from time to time on my favourite podcast {The Paperclipping Roundtable}. She was on the show last week talking about layering and you can listen to it {here}. 

So what do I do with all this inspiration? Why scrapbook and art journal, of course! Here is a page I made at The Paperie’s Spring Retreat that is definitely inspired by Dina’s style. 

Pic 1

I started this page using some of the new Dylusions spray inks…

Here’s Calypso Teal Dylusions…

Pic 2 

And here’s After Midnight Dylusions…

Pic 3

I sprayed the colors around the page but needed a pop of contrasting color. I knew that the orange spray would turn my blue inks into muddy blobs so instead I cut circles out of a scrap of watercolor paper I had sprayed with orange ink. Cutting up scraps is an easy way to get a pop of complementary color without making mud.  

Pic 4

I added some faux stitching lines with my FriXion erasable pen (YES! You read that correctly – a pen that erases! And comes in a variety of colours, available at The Paperie). For extra interest, I added some of the new Tim Holtz rub-ons. These are great for mixed media projects – they stick to everything like modeling paste, paint, ink and inky fingers!  

Pic 5

So, now you know why I am so excited that Dina is coming to The Paperie and I know I’m not the only one.  While we’re counting down to August, I am going to share some well-loved techniques and popular mixed media products you can find at The Paperie, or can order by emailing them.

Thanks for stopping by, see you next week!

~Cathie

Leave a Comment

