Dina Wakley Countdown: Dylusions

Hi Everyone! 

It’s Cathie and today I’m talking about the Dylusions spray inks. Our soon-to-be-guest-teacher, Dina Wakley admits to owning over 100 bottles of ink and Dylusions are among her favorites. These colorful inks are the creation of Ranger’s equally colorful Signature Designer (and Dina’s friend), Dyan Reaveley.  

I love these inks for their vibrant colors and because you can use them so many different ways. They react with water and other wet mediums like gesso and multi-medium and other ink sprays. That means you can use them for many different techniques and you know I love techniques!  So, I was delighted when 6 new colors were added to the Dylusions line at CHA. 

All Dylusions inks are translucent except the new White Linen. This spray is semi-opaque and creates a wonderful ghosting effect that you can see on the swatches below. White Linen works with all 15 colors in the Dylusions line. I sprayed it on black cardstock but it took a lot of ink for color to show up – it really works best when sprayed onto other inks. 

PIC 1

 Calypso Teal is my favorite. 

PIC 2

But I use them all. Here’s Cherry Pie…

PIC 3

Dirty Martini…

PIC 4

 After Midnight…

PIC 5

Funky Fuschia….

PIC 6

I made an art journal page using all the inks sprays. I sprayed them in my Dylusions art journal just to see what they looked like. When the ink was dry, I thought the colors were too pretty to ignore so I doodled to create flowers.

PIC 7

 And here’s a closeup…

PIC 8

The Dylusions Creative Journal is my favorite for art journaling – I’m working on my second one, right now.  The pages are thick cardstock or manila and they can take lots of layers of paints and inks.  DylusionsJournalI also made a layout using all the new colors and some Mister Huey Silver spray from Studio Calico. 

PIC 9

I sprayed each section of the paper with ink and then sprayed them all with some water to get the ink to run. When it was dry, I added more ink to intensify the color. When that was dry, I grabbed my Dylusions Starry Starry Night stencil and sprayed SC Silver.

The Dylusions reacted with the silver spray and created colorful shimmery stars…  

PIC 10

I also sprayed some chipboard letters to make the title with the Dylusions. I sprayed them in the same order that I had sprayed the background.  Then I stuck them down added the strip of glitter trim by Teresa Collins. It came in The Paperie’s June kit and is the perfect way to finish off the page. 

PIC 11

We’re going to have inky fun with Dylusions when Dina comes to teach at The Paperie for 2 full days in August. But you don’t have to wait until August to try them because the Paperie has these fabulous inks in stock right now! Why not pick up a few bottles and give them a try? They are so much fun!

*Dylusions Journals and White Linen Spray flew off the shelves early this week, so you can reserve some from the next shipment. 

Thanks for stopping by! 

~Cathie

Leave a Comment

