Create-a-Card: 17th Edition – Fresh Florals

Posted by Meghan

Today I’m going to show you one of the easiest cards I’ve ever made. If you know me at all, you know that ‘clean & simple’ is my motto when it comes to card design. I love embossing folders for creating quick cards, and this set of Sizzix Rose Vines & Trellis might just be my new favourite!Rose Vines-Trellis

I embossed the stunning Seashell shimmer cardstock from Envelopments with the Rose Vines folder and added some pearls to the centers of flowers. I always have a hard time deciding whether to go with the embossed (raised) or debossed (recessed) side; for this card I opted for the debossed image, it reminds me of letterpress.

CANON rebel 009

Can you believe I don’t own grey ink? I was surprised myself, but I improvised by inking my sentiment with black and stamping on scrap paper, then stamping again on a thin strip of cardstock without reinking. Thankfully it worked like a charm, but to save myself the stress I’ll definitely be picking up some Wet Cement ink from Hero Arts soon.

SCHA

Speaking of Hero Arts, these stamps they made in collaboration with Studio Calico are the bees knees. I love the fonts and the simple banner designs. Back to the card, I finished it off with a strip of satin ribbon on the panel which was affixed to the card before adding the strip of cardstock embellished with teeny tiny pearls and a wee knotted bow.

Easy peasy, just the way I like ’em! I’m really enjoying soft subdued hues in my cards lately, do you have a go-to colour combo? I’m also having a blast with the Big Shot – my die-cut and embossing folder collection keeps growing!

Hope you’ll join me for my Fresh Florals card class a week from today, on Wednesday, June 19th! Stop by the store to see a sneak peek!

Signature

P.S. I know Father’s Day is coming up this weekend, but I just haven’t figured out what I’m doing for Dad’s card yet. Masculine cards are hard! We’ve been busy pinning some favourites that we’ve seen on Pinterest, check them out {on our Pinterest board}.

 

2 thoughts on “Create-a-Card: 17th Edition – Fresh Florals

Leave a Comment

