Dina Wakley Countdown: Stencils

Hi all! It’s Cathie and today I’m talking about stencils. How in the world did I ever make anything without stencils? I just don’t know. They have become a staple for me and I use them all the time in my art journaling and on my scrapbook pages. I have a lot of stencils and some of my very favorites have been designed by our soon-to-be-guest-instructor, Dina Wakley.

Dina has released 15 lovely stencils through The Crafter’s Workshop  – my favorite stencil-making company. Their stencils are thin and flexible yet very sturdy. You can use them with every kind of medium from paint to ink to modeling paste and everything in between.

My absolute favorite Dina-style stencils are the silhouettes. I have the Sally Carly stencil and I use it all the time in my art journal.

I love these silhouettes because you get both the stencil and the mask so you can use both the positive and negative images. That’s a lot of creative possibilities!

Here’s a page where I used the mask to get the negative image.

PIC 1

And on this page, I used the stencil to get the positive image.

PIC 2

Of course, I love to use stencils in my scrapbooking, too.  Here’s a page I made using another favorite Dina stencil, the 6×6 Messy Circles.

PIC 3

I positioned the stencil around the page and spread modeling paste over it using an offset spatula. You can spread modeling paste as thick as you want but I went pretty thin because I wanted it to dry quickly. When the circles were dry, I randomly colored them with my Derwent Inktense pencils. All the other supplies (stickers, trim and cardstock) are from The Paperie’s June club kit.

Here is a closeup of those modeling paste circles.

PIC 4

And here’s another page I made using Dina’s 6×6 Spilled Hearts stencil and the Goosebumps dauber.

PIC 5

Goosebumps works great with stencils. It’s easy to use and dries quickly.  Once dry, I colored over the hearts through another stencil, Blazonry by Balzer Designs, using my Inktense Pencils. I used a damp paper towel to buff the color off the hearts and like magic, they appeared.

See?

PIC 6

So, those are a few of my favorite stencils designed by Dina Wakley. If you’ve seen one or two that you would like to own, just call or email The Paperie.  They are getting ready to place a special Dina Wakley stencil order so now is the time to stock up!

~

Hope you’re all enjoying Cathie’s Mixed Media posts! She has a fantastic 7 Layer Layouts Class coming up in one week, on Saturday, June 21st. We still have a couple of spaces left, so give us a call (726-5323) to sign up! Everyone will go home with two layouts finished. Here’s a SNEAK PEEK on Cathie’s blog – one of the layouts is in the shop behind the cash desk! You should also check out Cathie’s Index Card a Day posts – awesome techniques to try.

Leave a Comment

