Interview with Dina Wakely

Posted by Wendy

I don’t know about everyone else but I am very excited that Dina Wakely is coming to The Paperie. Mixed Media & Art journaling are relatively new to me but I find myself using some mixed media techniques in my scrapbook pages. I’m anxious to learn more from Dina so I can take my projects to the next level.

As the countdown to Dina begins (2 months from today!) we thought it would be fun to do an ‘interview’ with Dina – she was very kind and responded to all of our questions. (Janna, Cathie & I brainstormed some questions so that we had a mix of experiences in those doing the asking.

For more information on the classes Dina will be teaching here in August just {click here}.

DinaPic

First of all Dina, thanks for agreeing to do this interview and for being so prompt in responding, especially since we know you are so busy with all of your travelling and teaching engagements.

You’re a frequent guest on the Paperclipping Roundtable podcast. If you could put together a panel for a podcast, who would ask and what would be the topic?

I’d love to talk about the artistic process with Pam Carriker, Pam Garrison, and Mary Beth Shaw.

Right now, what is your favorite supply (besides Dylusions spray inks) and what is your favorite technique to do with that supply? 

Neocolor II crayons. They’re intensely pigmented and water soluble. They bring out your inner child, it’s fun to play with crayons. I draw and add details on my pages with them. They draw well over acrylic paint.

What is your favorite adhesive for mixed media scrapbooking?

I use soft gel matte gel medium, or Tombow Mono glue (the kind with the green lid). Or the Ranger collage glue stick.

Where do you find your inspiration?

In art…I regularly go to art museums to look at and be around art.

How would you describe your style? 

Organic, messy, gestural.

Dina-Tags

How do you know when a page or layout or tag is finished? 

Hmm, I just know. I’m a very quick scrapbooker & journaler. I rarely spend longer than 30 minutes on a page.

Dina-Layout

Do you display your art journals in your home or share them with your family?

No, not really. My art journals are mostly just for me.

What’s the first thing you did when you finally had a printed copy of your book?

I took a photo of me with it!

We found that pic!

We found that pic!

With all the wonderful pages you’ve made, how did you decide on the cover art for your book?

Well, I didn’t decide…the publisher decided from several pieces that I had submitted.

What was the most interesting trip you have ever taken? Why?

Probably to China in 2005. It wasn’t a teaching trip, it was a vacation. Fascinating place! Great food and interesting history.

What is the last book you read?

Inferno by Dan Brown (not very good), and The End of Your Life Book Club by Wil Schwalbe (very good, highly recommend).

What was the last movie you went to see?

Iron Man 3, with my husband & fellas.

What advice do you have for people who are new to mixed media ? We have a lot of papercrafters who maybe up until now have focused on scrapbooking or cards and are interested in art journaling/mixed media but don’t know where to start.

My advice is you don’t have to do every trick you know on every page. Just pick one technique, or two at the most.

Favourite project you’ve done and why? 

Just my art journals…I love them so much.

Most fun you’ve had teaching a class and what made it fun for you?

I have fun in every class I teach! Especially when the students have open minds and are willing to “go there” with me. When they’re adventurous and willing to try.

What advice do you have for those Type A personalities who struggle with messy projects but want to get in to mixed media/art journaling?

My advice is “DONE is better than PERFECT”.

Do you have a dedicated studio? Can you share some tips as to how you have it set up?

Yes, I have a studio. But no, I don’t have any tips…it’s a hot mess and I need help fixing it!

What excites you most about coming to Newfoundland?

I’ve thought that Newfoundland was an interesting place ever since I read The Shipping News many years ago. Everyone tells me that people in Newfoundland are awesome. I’m excited to come!

We are so pleased that Dina could play along with us and I can already tell she’s going to fit right in here in Newfoundland since we definitely have some adventurous ladies here!

Dina’s book is now available for pre-order for $23.75 – that’s 20% off the regular price of $28.50 and no shipping charges!

Pre-Order for $23.75!

Pre-Order for $23.75!

Let us know if you’d like to order your copy, there will be an opportunity to have your book signed by Dina during the weekend of classes in August.

Wendy & Janna

Leave a Comment

