Create a Card: 21st Edition

Hi all;

Like most papercrafters I follow a lot of blogs for inspiration and of course my blog roll would not be complete without Jennifer McGuire.  These cards were my attempt at the distress ink watercolour technique which she featured recently for a Hero Arts Blog Hop. You get 2 cards this time since there were more supplies than usual, I try to duplicate cards where I can.

The Supplies I used were:

Create a card distress ink watercolour supplies 3/3

  • Lawn Fawn Stamp Sets – Flutter By & Cruisin’ through Life
  • water mister
  • twine
  • Versamark ink
  • Archival jet black ink
  • Tim Holtz Scissors
  • Kool Tak adhesive
  • Glue Dots
  • Distress ink: broken china, festive berries, mustard seed & spiced marmalade
  • Tim Holtz broad tip waterbrush
  • clear embossing powder
  • heat gun
  • Cover a card stamp backgrounds by Impression Obsession
  • watercolour paper
  • white cardstock
  • Enamel dots
  • Simple Stories “I Heart Summer” 6×6 paper pad – patterned paper

Here are the two cards I made:

Create a card distress ink watercolour 2/3

Create a card distress ink watercolour 1/3

Jennifer Mcguire has a video on her blog which takes you through the steps to make the watercolour background but basically here is what you do:

  1. Cut your watercolour paper to size for the front panel
  2. Use cover a card stamp with versamark ink & clear embossing powder to create your resist background
  3. Heat set embossing powder
  4. Choose your distress ink colours and apply some direct to your kraft mat
  5. Mist your watercolour panel and the ink that is on your mat
  6. Use your broad tip waterbrush to pick up the colours and ‘paint’ on the panel (*clean brush between each colour)
  7. Heat set paint to dry
  8. Cut two banners for coordinating pattern paper (I used the gorgeous new I Heart Summer Line)
  9. Use Archival Ink to stamp out sentiments (I used 2 of my Lawn Fawn sets and even cut one of the sentiments to fit!) on banner
  10. Adhere one banner with double sided tape and the other with foam squares to add dimension
  11. Wrap some time around card and tie in bow
  12. Add enamel dots
  13. Done!

I love that I can use my Cover-a-Card background stamps for this … they were getting dusty in my scrap room. I can’t wait to try some of the others for this technique.

Happy Stamping!

Leave a Comment

