Create-a-Card: 22nd Special Edition – July 2013 Card Kit

Posted by Wendy

Hope you enjoyed Sara’s layouts yesterday, featuring the card kit. In keeping with our Wednesday Create-a-Card theme, today I’m sharing the cards I made using this great kit. It is selling FAST, so call us if you’d like to reserve one! 726-5323

The cards I made are clean & simple and it seems as though I have a thing for banners lately ūüėČ

August card kit Wendy 1/8

This card was super simple; I used two strips of patterned paper adhered to card base and then stapled (with tiny attacher) some of the twine. I cut 3 banners from the patterned paper and adhered across the twine with the buttons (which I put on with glossy accents). I used one of the labels and called it done.

August card kit Wendy 2/8

This one was a little more involved. ¬†I assembled several of the speech balloon stamps on my craft mat and then pressed onto my acrylic block. I used the Hero Arts White Chalk Ink to create a background on the dark patterned paper; the trick to this is to stamp randomly and go off the paper in some areas.¬†Next I used my white Uniball pen to add some ‘stitching’ to the panel. ¬†I used a heart punch to punch out a few mini hearts to match the heart stamp I embossed and fussy cut out. ¬†I also embossed the camera on the red polka dot paper and fussy cut that out as well. ¬†I adhered the camera and tiny hearts with foam adhesive and used another label to finish the card off.

August card kit Wendy 3/8

For this one I used the hexagon patterned paper and cut out 7 different hexagons to form a strip down the left side of the card.  I adhered some with foam dimensional adhesive and others with flat adhesive to make a neat effect.  I used the ledger paper to create a strip and added some twine with my tiny attacher. Another label finished it off.

August card kit Wendy 4/8

This card above is perhaps the easiest clean & simple card РI loved the card base and wanted to show as much of it as I could so I used a patterned paper scrap and a white scrap and made a banner, used the Sn@p alphas to spell my sentiment, threaded a button and adhered it all.

August card kit Wendy 5/8

For this one I used the striped paper as a background panel and cut several 1 inch strips of white into banners. ¬†I made a pattern by embossing the heart, star and small camera images using VersaColor¬†ink¬†cubes. I’ve been buying these up to create a separate embossing station in my craft room – I love how affordable they are and how I can¬†easily emboss in any colour. ¬†I used a Wink of Stella Zig pen to ‘stitch’ the edges, the Sn@p alphas for my sentiment and finished it off with my crop-a-dile and a ribbon bow.

August card kit wendy 6/8

I created a string of buttons on some twine and adhered it to two panels of patterned paper.  The arrow panel is with regular adhesive and the hexagon is with dimensional.  I cut , you guessed it, another banner from the dark pattern and used it to place the label.

August card kit Wendy 7/8
This card took the longest but is probably my favourite. ¬†I stamped the speech balloon out 12 times and fussy cut them out, adhered to white panel and then used dimensional adhesive to adhere the panel to the card base. ¬†I used the the alphas to spell ‘Hi” and it was done.

August card kit Wendy 8/8

For this card I used a white piece as a panel again and then punched out butterflies using an old Martha Steward punch. ¬†I ‘stitched’ using a pen around the card base and then adhered 2 strips of the ribbon with Scor-tape. ¬†I used the butterfly label and wrote happy birthday for a personal touch.

I like to use kit leftovers to make a few filler and journaling cards for my own Project Life album…

August card kit Wendy PL cards

The stamps in this kit are very functional for cards, layouts and journalling cards Рlove that! When I make the cards with the kit I really try to minimize any supplies that I use that are not in the kit other than consumables or things we are all likely to have in stock.  Here is everything I used this month:

August card kit Wendy extra supplies used

I also used flat and dimensional (foam dots) adhesive, my tiny attacher and clear embossing powder (not shown).

Thanks!

Wendy

Leave a Comment

