August Card Kit – Wendy’s Cards

Posted by Wendy

I know I’ve said it before but I can’t help saying it again; I have so much fun putting together and using the card kits!  Papercrafting products are my weakness (as if you couldn’t tell!) and compiling them in a way that inspires me to create cards, how fun is that.  For the August card kit I made all of the following cards over 2 nights which is typically how I work, when I get a kit I annihilate it and use everything I can and then the bits left over get made into journalling or filler cards for my project life album.

Card #1:

August card kit -yellow rose

August card kit yellow rose supplies

As with most of my card kit posts I try to use only what comes with the kit and consumables that most papercrafters would have a version of in their own stash.  For the yellow rose card I stamped the rose in butter bar Hero Arts Shadow Ink and distressed the edges with vintage photo.  I used the Corner Chomper to round the top right corners of both the patterned panel and the card base.  I wrapped twine around the patterned panel, adhered the rose with foam dots and stuck to card – a great blank card to have on hand.

Card #2:

August card kit - distress rose

August card kit - distress rose supplies

For my second card I wanted to play with my Distress Markers (there are new ones on order and I can’t wait!). I sued forest moss, worn lipstick, peeled paint, mustard seed and spun sugar to color the stamp then spritzed with the mini mister and stamped on a scrap of watercolor paper.  I trimmed to size and then used a border to punch to create a scalloped edge on the to of the panel.  I corner chomped the card base, adhered patterned paper panel and rose with regular adhesive and then finished with a tiny text sentiment and som eof the ribbon.

Card #3:

August card kit - bannersAugust card kit - banner supplies

For card #3 I used the banner stamp and stamped it on a piece of the patterned paper using Navy Hero Arts Shadow Ink.  Next I used the Wink of Stella Pens to add some sparkle to the pennants. I rounded the right top and bottom corners of the card panel and adhered to base.  I cut 2 banners from the patterned paper and then cut a tiny text sentiment to match and layered them all together. Finally  I used some of the buttons to embellish.

Card #4

August card kit - friend

August card kit - friend supplies

For the 4th card I heat embossed the Friend sentiment with Old Rose Versacolor ink and clear embossing powder.  I cut that and another piece into a wide banner, wrapped twine around the banners and added 3 buttons.  I addered all of that to a patterned paper panel and adhered to kraft card base – very simple.

Card #5:

August card kit - row of buttons

August card kit - row of buttons supplies

For this card I wanted to try a chalkboard look so I stamped the friend sentiment on the dark patterned paper with Unicorn Hero Arts Pigment Ink (I love this ink!).  I cut a small rectangle around sentiment, used crop-a-dile to create notches and tied a piece of ribbon around.  I added the ‘stitches” with my white Uniball pen. I layered the pattenred paper, adhered to card base and embellished with a row of buttons.

Card #6:

August card kit- thanks

August card kit - thanks supplies

For this card I used the Navy Hero Arts Shadow ink to stamp the rose image and then fussy cut it out.  I adhered it to a piece of the patterned paper with foam dots and tucked a banner (stamped and cut out as well) behind it.  I punched holes in the panel and tied with the ribbon.   I adhered to card base and then used letters for sentiment. Finally I rounded the right hand corners with my crop-a-dile.

Card #7:

August card kit - stars

August card kit- stars supplies

For the 7th card I tapped some of the Mint Green Color shine on a white card base and then adhered a strip of the washi tape diagonally across card.  I used the washi tape as a guide and then cut some of the scraps into strips and adhered.  I used the star sentiment and stamped it on a label I die cut (this die was in an older Hero Arts/ sizzix stamp and die set). I used onyx black Versafine ink to stamp the sentiment. Next I die cut some stars from the hellow patterned paper and adhered with foam dots.  The star die is from My Favourite Things Die-namics and I use it all the time for kids birthday cards.

Card #8:

image

image

The heart card was very easy to pull together, I used Hero Arts Snow Chalk ink to stamp the Love sentiment to create a background.  I next cut some hearts out with the Lawn Cuts heart dies and staggered the hearts (some adhered with foam adhesive) down the right side of card.  I then wrapped some of the twine and added the tiny text sentiment.  Done!

Card #9:

August card kit white rose

August card kit white rose inside

August kit white rose supplies

This card was probably the most involved card of the bunch;  I wanted a special birthday card for someone ;). I used a Lawn Fawn sentiment set for the happy birthday which I put inside the card.  I white heat embossed the rose image directly on the craft card base and then cut panels from some patterned paper scraps into banners and adhered to right top corner and then used buttons to embellish.  I wrapped with twine and tied a bow.  On the inside I used the gift card die from Die-namics and the banner die to create the sentiment banner and pocket – love that look.  I will definitely white emboss the rose image again; very simple but gorgeous look.

Bonus Project:

August card kit tag supplies

I actually made a tag for my last project.  I was inspired by Cathie’s post about the Hero Arts Daubers and wanted to try a resist technique with the rose stamp.  I used Cup o’ Joe, Pale Tomato, and Buttercup ink daubers, clear embossing powder, Bronzer Color Shine Mist, a brown copic marker  and the Tim Holtz tag die.  I actually used a scrap of watercolor paper for this one.  Here’s the tag:

August card kit - Tag

Instructions:

  • Cut a tag from watercolor paper
  • Heat emboss the rose with clear powder
  • swipe the ink daubers across the tag, overlapping slightly so as not to get start lines
  • wipe away ink from rose image
  • spritz with the color chine
  • use copic to color the alpha stickers (I do this all the time to change the color and get more use from my stickers/ alphas)
  • embellish with a strip of washi tape
  • tie with twine.

Done!  The Paperie Card kits are released monthly, let us know if you’d like one set aside. Stay tuned later this week for some layouts and cards that Meghan made featuring this months kit!

Wendy

Leave a Comment

