Dina Wakley Countdown: One Week to Go!

Posted by Cathie

Hi Everyone!

I’m excited to remind you that it’s only 1 week until Dina Wakley arrives at The Paperie to teach a whole weekend of classes. The event starts on Friday night with a Meet-n-Greet crop where you can purchase a signed copy of Dina’s book, Art Journal Freedom.

In her book, Dina shares inspirations and ideas, techniques and tips to help you art journal with ease.  A few weeks ago, Sara shared one of her favorite techniques from Dina’s book. Today, I’m going to show you how I used Art Journal Freedom to finish an art journal page that I started ages ago but was having trouble finishing.

Here’s the page I chose to work on.  (And just to keep it real, that’s what my desk currently looks like).

Book Pic 1

Using the design principles Dina covers in her book, I identified the following problems:

  • No white space. I painted the whole background blue and now there’s nowhere for the eye to rest.
  • Proximity problem. My elements are disconnected – just floating on the page.
  • No focal point. I didn’t start this page with an end in mind so there’s no dominant image.

My first step was to address the proximity problem. I sprayed some SC Mister Huey Estate Green through my favorite stencil, Blazonry by Balzer Designs.

Book Pic 2

Then I added some Mustard Seed Distress Paint through another favorite stencil, Dylusions 9×12 Dotted Flower.

Book Pic 3jpg

I was definitely on the way to solving the proximity problem but the SC Estate Green had dried much darker than I planned and I wasn’t happy. Still I was committed to moving forward so I turned to problem #3 and started working on a focal point.  I started with a heart shape cut from a scrap of watercolor paper and covered in Tim Holtz Tissue wrap.

Book Pic 4

I still thought the background was too dark so I sprayed some Dylusions White Linen spray ink to knock back the dark green.

Book Pic 5

I decided to add some color to the heart and sprayed it with Dylusions Funky Fuschia. I let some excess ink drip on the page to tie in the color.

Book Pic 6

But that didn’t work at all so I abandoned the heart in favor of stars. I sprayed a scrap piece of black cardstock with Heidi Swapp Color Shine Gold. Then I punched out some star shapes and scattered them on my page.

Book Pic 7

And that’s when it all came together for me. I knew that I wanted to journal about the song, “Twinkle Twinkle Little Star”.  I wrote the first line of the song and then some thoughts I wanted to capture.

Book Pic 8

I added some extra pen work like doodles and scribbles…

 

…and a punched a pink circle to put under one of the stars. To help the stars pop off the dark green part of the page. And here’s the final page.

Book Pic 10

I solved all the design problems on this page using Art Journal Freedom.  Now there’s plenty of white space for the eye to rest. I solved the proximity problem by overlapping the new elements with the ones on original page with my stencils and stars. And the page now has a focus with the title work and stars.

I hope Sara and I have convinced you to pre-order your copy of Art Journal Freedom. It’s a book I turn to again and again for information and inspiration. There’s still time to sign up for the Dina Wakley weekend so call The Paperie today to reserve your seat. You’re not going to want to miss it.

Thanks for stopping by!

Cathie

4 thoughts on “Dina Wakley Countdown: One Week to Go!

  1. I loved seeing that page come to life. What a before and after. Also, you writing is beautiful Cathie-it looks like script rub-ons you could easily find on sale in the store. Awesome layout.

Leave a Comment

