August Card Kit Part II

Posted by Meghan

Hey everyone! For this month’s card kit I took a stab at making a couple of layouts and cards with the kit contents. I have always been a fan of 8×8 layouts and the card kits are perfect for this size – plus you get strips leftover to make cute little mini cards.

Here’s a look at my first layout which ties in with Janna’s “Now & Then” Mojo Monday Challenge this week. Granted, 1994 isn’t “now”, but these photos simply show a recurring theme in my life: whether it’s 1981, 1994 or 2013 – you can find me swimming in a pond somewhere during the summer.

IMG_4235

Both photos were taken in Wisconsin, the first at Camp Sybil in Lake Geneva where my mom spent most of her summers growing up. The second photo was taken at my aunt’s summer cottage in Pelican Lake, Wisconsin. I often cut up my paper to use as embellishments so I fussy-cut a tiny wee camera from some patterned 6×6 paper and punched some circles that reminded me of beach balls.

When I saw the 6×6 typewriter paper, I knew this next picture would be a perfect fit. Every now and then I like to scrapbook a picture from my childhood and 8×8 is definitely my preferred size for that since most photos are 4×4 or polaroid.

IMG_4231

Cute cat, hey? And baby Meghan is okay too. I cut some of the green patterned paper to create an interesting embellishment at the top of the photo, accented with a cute button. I used the “LOVE” stamp from the KaiserCraft stamp set as part of my title.

Below are the 3×3 mini cards I made with the leftover pieces from the 8.5×11 Kraft & White cardstock above.

The first card was actually half of a 6×6 piece of patterned paper, cute to attach to a baby gift. The second card just uses one of the stamps with some of my own gemstones. For the third mini card I stamped and then paper pieced the banner.

And finally here are two cards I made using the pink 8.5×11 cardstock.

IMG_4239

The first uses a floral panel of the 6×6 patterned paper. The 0.5″ white strip was leftover when I cut my 8.5×11 paper down to 8×8 and the circle was cut from leftover piece from my white mini card. I didn’t have any white paper to layer, so I sanded the edges of the patterned paper with my Paperie nail file and it worked like a charm! I use this technique often when I want to create definition without adding another layer. You can also try inking the edges, especially when using cardstock that doesn’t have a white core.

The next card is what we call a ‘one layer wonder’…

IMG_4244

Quite simply, this card was stamped and embossed with white powder, accented with buttons and the Tiny Text stickers from Cosmo Cricket. Fast and easy!

I haven’t mastered the art of annihilating a kit yet so I have lots of scraps leftover. I bought a 25-pack of mini envelopes so I think I’ll use my remaining 6×6 patterned papers to make some more mini cards – definitely a handy thing to have on hand to attach to a gift bag or present.

Before I go I need to show you a technique that Amber from {Damask Love} shared on her Facebook page:

GelatosAmber scribbled three colours on a sheet of watercolour paper, then blended them with a baby wipe to create an ombre effect. Do you love this as much as I do? We have a selection of Gelatos in stock and we also have the Gift Sets on order if you’d like to reserve one!

Hope you’re all having a great weekend!

Signature

3 thoughts on “August Card Kit Part II

  1. Love these cards and the layout… It’s so inspiring to see so much of the kits used up on these blog posts!
    I’m such a huge fan of your style, Meghan 🙂

  2. Aww, thank you Stephanie! Scrapbooking might not be my strongest point but I sure do love those clean & simple cards!

    -Meghan

  3. Meghan, you’re such a cutie! I, too, prefer a clean and simple style, and your cards are stunning. I never cease to be amazed at how much can be done with these kits!

Leave a Comment

