Krista’s Week in the Life: Tuesday

Posted by Krista

This week we’ll be sharing some of the designers approaches & processes for their own Week In The Life. I am a bit of a minor tech junkie – I love a good app and I’m all about my iPhone. That’s why my own approach to WITL is tech-centric.

I’ve done Week in the Life three times before – twice in a small scrapbooking format and once to include in my PL album. I love this project. When I decided to throw out this concept of a week long WITL workshop at the store, I had a look back at my previous albums and I’m so pleased that I took the time to do it.

Last year WITL happened to fall on the week we brought home our cocker spaniel puppy Eugene. Looking back at that week I’m reminded of how small he was – and how sharp his baby teeth were – and how far we’ve come. But, mostly it proves how much our habits have changed this past year and a half. I am so excited to document along with all of you this week because I can’t wait to look at what life was like in September 2013 when I open that album next year or some time further into the future.

So in doing this project a few times now, I’ve learned that the best course of action is to simply decide on a formula. WITL is really about whatever you want to make it. I’m using a Basic Grey album with inserts for 6×8 photos and square photos which will most likely be Instagram shots.

I’m planning on keeping track of my days on Instagram (@krlewe) with a time stamp on my photos. In addition, I’m using the app Evernote to take notes each day of the week that I can add to a journaling card and have printed when I send my photos to the printer. The old fashioned pen & paper method might work better for you if you’re not into the smartphone phenomenon.

The plan for my photo process is simple. I set a time at the end of each day where I choose what I want to use for the day and crop and edit the photos then, adding them to a folder (ie: Monday) on my desktop. Then I send everything to the printer the minute I’m finished editing that last day. I find that it’s much easier when you do it day by day rather than sitting down with a large, overwhelming number of photos to choose from!

week in the life - Tuesday - Krista

Krista’s Supplies:

  • Basic Grey Hipster Album + coordinating Page Protectors
  • American Crafts Project Life kit – Midnight Edition
  • Post it notes: grid
  • Studio Calico Weekday stamps
  • Technique Tuesday – various Ali Edwards stamps
  • American Crafts Thickers: My Girl Black/white
  • Studio Calico Atlantic Cork Stickers chevrons and arrows
  • A selection of washi tape, buttons and enamel dots

If you are wondering what our approach to Week in the Life is all about…

This past Saturday, September 7th, we kick started the process with a preparation class where each of the participating designers introduced their album and their plan for the week. Each day this week we’ll be going live on the blog with some tips and tricks to help you along the way.  If you signed up (or would like to sign up for the crop) we will also be including some cut files, journaling cards and more in email blasts during the week.

Of course, the hardest part of doing ‘Week in the Life’ is putting it all together so we’re making it easy for you! We’re giving you two weeks to develop your photos and then we’ll come together to complete your album at an all-day crop on Saturday, September 28th. Won’t you come join us and document a ‘Week in Your Life’?!

Cost: $20 Includes: Week In The Life Emails (Sept 9-15th) with cut files, journaling cards, documents, special tips and tricks.
Cost includes All-day Crop on Saturday, September 28th.

Registration includes, the 10% class discount for one day only for WITL prep.

Leave a Comment

