Sara’s Week in the Life: Wednesday

This week we’re sharing some of the designers approaches & processes for their own Week In The Life. Sometimes when we are thinking about hopping on board and participating in a large-scale project we have to make it simple. And that’s just what Sara’s approach is all about. Check out what she has to say!

Sara’s Week in the Life:

I strongly recommend KISS – keep it simply simple. This can be a pretty intense week and you don’t want to add to it by complicating your end product so all my tips come from this main one!

I try to keep this project as simple, easy, and stress free as possible. So much happens everyday that we can get caught up in little things that mean nothing but forget the little things that really add to our day. I take pictures as I feel like it and don’t if I’m not in the mood – there will still be lots to pick from everyday!

Last year I made my mini album from scratch and alhough I loved it, it was a fair bit of work. I was lucky enough that The Paperie Retreat was right after WITL and so I had lots of time to play. This year I want to simplify so I plan to use a 6×8 pre-made mini album with divided page protectors. This will allow me to do a little editing of pictures but still keep it basic. The divided protectors mean I don’t have to put together new LO’s all the time but I can still capture all my memories. I’m going to have one 6×8 page each day where I can put a favorite photo and still get to play with my mixed media products – that’s definitely going to be the biggest and most visible change from last year!

I’m going to continue to use Ali Edward’s daily sheets, like last year, where I can fill in everything we do and eat each day because it keeps me on track and I have a handwritten record of everything to tuck into my album. Even if I don’t have photos of it all, I still know what we did.

Each night I’ll go through my pictures and pick out my favorites and/or the ones that tell a good story from the day. It only takes a few minutes to pick and edit each day and then I’ll save them into a WITL folder on my desk top. At the end of the week it’s a simple matter of uploading and printing when I’m ready to put it all together.

 

Week in the Life - Sara

Sara’s Supplies:

  • Simple Stories Sn@p 6×8 Orange binder
  • 6×8 and divided page protectors
  • Sn@p 6×8 die cut pages
  • Sn@p Life Basics 6×6 paper pad
  • Sn@p Everyday pockets and stickers (if they come in)
  • Basic Grey Capture Alpha Stickers
  • Simple Stories Sn@p Stamps – Snapshots
  • Studio Calico Stamps – Weekdays

If you are wondering what our approach to Week in the Life is all about…

This past Saturday, September 7th we kick started the process with a preparation class where each of the participating designers introduced their album and their plan for the week. Each day this week we’ll be going live on the blog with some tips and tricks to help you along the way.  If you signed up (or would like to sign up for the crop) we will also be including some cut files, journaling cards and more in email blasts during the week.

Of course, the hardest part of doing ‘Week in the Life’ is putting it all together so we’ll make it easy for you! We’re giving you two weeks to develop your photos and then we’ll come together to complete your album at an all-day crop on Saturday, September 28th. Won’t you come join us and document a ‘Week in Your Life’?!

Cost: $20 Includes: Week In The Life Emails (Sept 9-15th) with cut files, journaling cards, documents, special tips and tricks.
Cost includes All-day Crop on Saturday, September 28th.

Registration included the 10% class discount for one day only for WITL prep.

Registration includes, the 10% class discount for one day only for WITL prep.

Leave a Comment

