Cathie’s Week in the Life: Thursday

This week we’ll be sharing some of the designers approaches & processes for their own Week In The Life. Sometimes it’s easy to start strong and finish slowly. Each day is different and some require more work to document than others! Check out how Cathie’s approach is addressing that issue.

This year my plan was to start on Monday with a detailed account of our day. The rest of the week I’m dividing the day into morning, noon and night and documenting accordingly.

My goal is to edit my photos and send them to the printer at the end of each day. I’ve done this in the past and found it’s easier than editing a whole week’s worth of photos when WITL is over. I also collect ephemera for my WITL album and put it in baggies labeled with the day of the week.

For a bit of variety, I’m going to add some mixed media elements into my WITL- like journaling cards. I’m also planning to add an art journaling page or two. I want to capture my ‘2013’ style and highlight some of my favorite products and techniques.

When the week is over I’ll gather all my photos, supplies, journaling and ephemera and start putting my album together at the Crop. I find it’s easier to finish the album when WITL is over and i have  everything all gathered together.

Week in the Life - Thursday - Cathie

Cathie’s supplies:

  • Sn@p Album & page protectors.
  • Flair Badges. Love you lots vols 2 & 3, Evalicious 
  • Pen for writing on pictures. I’m using the Faber Castell Pitt Pens.
  • Date stamp. 
  • 6×6 Paper pads – assorted
  • Archival Ink – assorted colors
  • Canson Watercolor Paper
  • Dylusions Ink Sprays
  • Gesso
  • Golden Fluid Acrylic Paints 
  • Life Bits by The Crafter’s Workshop 

If you are wondering what our approach to Week in the Life is all about…

This past Saturday, September 7th we kick started the process with a preparation class where each of the participating designers introduced their album and their plan for the week. Each day this week we’ll be going live on the blog with some tips and tricks to help you along the way.  If you signed up (or would like to sign up for the crop) we will also be including some cut files, journaling cards and more in email blasts during the week.

Of course, the hardest part of doing ‘Week in the Life’ is putting it all together so we’ll make it easy for you! We’re giving you two weeks to develop your photos and then we’ll come together to complete your album at an all-day crop on Saturday, September 28th. Won’t you come join us and document a ‘Week in Your Life’?!

Cost: $20 Includes: Week In The Life Emails (Sept 9-15th) with cut files, journaling cards, documents, special tips & tricks.
Cost includes All-day Crop on Saturday, September 28th.

Registration included the 10% class discount for one day only for WITL prep.

Leave a Comment

