Create-a-Card: Triangles

Posted by Wendy

This week I pulled out a stamp set I ‘had’ to have last month from My Favorite Things as well as some of the new Distress Glitter to play.  Sometimes I have a design in mind when I start and sometimes I just want to test out some of my stamps or product that are new to the store.

Here are the two cards I created for this week:

Create a card triangles #2

For both cards I lined up the stamps on the card base first to get the layout I wanted and then picked them up with the stamp press.  I used the charcoal Shadow ink for this first card and stamped on the card panel.  Next I picked to triangles and filled them in with glossy accents and then poured the distress glitter over the top and gently pressed with my finger.  To ensure that the glossy accents made it to the corners I used a stick pin to pull it. Next I stamped the sentiment from the Ali Edwards set with the versacolor cardinal ink and embossed with clear embossing powder.  I fussy cut it out and adhered with the dimensional adhesive and then mounted panel to the grey card base.

Create a card triangles

For the colorful card I used the new Distress markers and colored in each of the triangles and then stamped on the panel.  I stamped out the sentiment from the Avery Elle set and hand cut a banner which I adhered with dimensional adhesive.  I thought the card could use a little glitter so I added score-tape to a strip of card stock, peeled off the backing and added the glitter, pressing gently with my fingers.  I then cut this into a banner and adhered to panel and mounted the whole thing on the base.  I love that distress markers allow you to color on acrylic stamps – so versatile.

I also have a confession to make – I did not think that I would like the distress glitter but I tried it and I love it!  The texture is not like any other glitter – it is almost like fine chips of mica in the glitter that give it a vintage look – sort of like vintage glass Christmas ornaments.  I now own 6 colors and you’ore correct in guessing that I won’t stop there!

And here are the supplies:

  • New Distress markers
  • foam dimensional adhesive
  • Acrylic block
  • Versacolor Cardinal ink
  • clear embossing powder (not shown)
  • Versafine Black ink
  • fiskars stamp press
  • scissors
  • scor-tape
  • heat gun (not shown)
  • glossy accents (not shown)
  • Hero Arts Charcoal Shadow Ink
  • Neenah solar white cardstock for card panels
  • older Amuse cardstock for card base

Create a card triangles supplies used

The stamps I used:

  • My Favorite Things “Trendy Triangles”
  • Ali Edwards “Label Maker”
  • Avery Elle “The Man”

Create a card triangles stamps used

Happy Stamping!

Wendy Signature

Leave a Comment

