October 2013 Card Kit: Janna’s projects

Posted by Janna

Hi everyone, we’re mixing things up and this month I decided to play along with the October card kit.  Here are my cards:

oct card kit Janna

This card was the first one I made, and without surprise, I had to “fussy cut” something. I love cutting out images and then using them to layer. Here, I stamped the flower and cut it, as well as the tag.

oct card kit janna

There was a sheet of the 6×6 pad that had a quilting pattern so I cut some of the pieces and layered them over each other to create a border. The flower was stamped and glued over the knot in the ribbon.

October card kit janna

For this card, I got out my old square Coluzzle to cut the frame – even though this tool is discontinued, it does the job. If you love your Coluzzle like I do, you’ll be happy to know that The Paperie carries an X-acto brand swivel replacement blade that fits the Coluzzle knife perfectly.

oct card kit janna

I just love the laced edging stamp in the stamp set, it was easy to cut and use in my card. The sentiments on the alphabet sticker sheet lined up nicely to seam the paper pieces together at the top of the card.
oct card kit janna

That lovely lace border again with one flower stamped three times and popped up with foam adhesive. I bet Meghan would agree that the lace would look pretty on a DIY custom wedding invitation too.

oct card kit janna

There were mini envelopes in the kit (love!) so I made this little wee matchbook style card out of a scrap that I had left over. I used a border punch to scallop the edge. When folded, it’s 2.75 x 3.

I love the fact that the kit allowed me to make cards, and still have some fun making a layout. I sprayed the background of my Kraft 8.5×11 cardstock with a Mister Huey’s opaque white mister and started layered the elements. There’s that mini envelope again. I just cropped my photo to fit in there easily.

oct card kit janna

Hope you enjoyed my take on the kit – call the store to get yours, they’re selling fast!

Janna

2 thoughts on “October 2013 Card Kit: Janna’s projects

  1. Janna,
    I looooove all the things you did with this kit! I think my fav is the quilt border card 🙂 beautiful!!

  2. My goodness, Janna, the boys are really growing up. Love the mini card. I’m especially fond of the layout. Love how you cut the paper you used to ground the main photo.

Leave a Comment

