Create-a-Card – Silks

Hi Everyone;

I had bought some Silks at the last Retreat when I participated in Sara’s canvas class and I decided to try them out again… now I remember why I bought them!  They are gorgeous to work with – especially for the emboss resist technique.

The supplies I used for my two cards are:

image

  • Memento tuxedo black ink
  • Versamark ink
  • Zig Glue Pen
  • post-it tape
  • Silks – Rich Cobalt & Key Lime
  • Fiskars border punch
  • Claudine Hellmuth Studio Brush
  • Enamel dots
  • dimensional adhesive
  • acrylic block
  • Tim Holtz scissors
  • Glitter paper
  • Basic Grey Hipster 6×6 paper pad
  • Memory Box dies – Cottage in the Woods & Vivienne Butterfly
  • clear embossing powder (not shown)
  • heat gun (not shown)
  • watercolor paper
  • neenah solar white cardstock

The stamps I used are:

  • Hero Arts Very Merry Christmas CL543
  • Lawn fawn Check this Out
  • Hero Arts Design Blocks: Starry Sky & Flourish

image

Here are the cards I created:

image

For this card I heat embossed the Starry Sky stamp with clear powder onto some watercolor paper and then painted the cobalt blue Silks over top and let dry and then wiped off the excess with a rag to allow the stars to show through. when it was dry I cut it to size.  I stamped the greeting with the Memento Tuxedo Black in near the bottom of the card.  I cut the Cottage in the Woods Die out of the self-adhesive glitter paper and adhered to bottom edge of the panel.  Then I popped the entire panel off the card with dimensional foam adhesive and called it done!

image

For this card I used the same Neenah cardstock base and layered 2 of the patterned papers from the Hipster line; using the Fiskars border punch on the floral one. I followed the same steps with the watercolor panel and heat embossed with clear powder the Flourish background and then painted with the Key Lime Silks.  I let it dry a bit and then rubbed off the excess with a dry rag.  Next I die cut the Vivienne Butterfly out of another Hipster patterned paper and adhered it to the watercolor panel with the Zig glue.  I adhered the entire panel to the card base with foam adhesive.  I used the Lawn Fawn Check it Out set to stamp the greeting onto 2 hand-cut flags.  The greeting comes as one long stamp and I do not like to cut my stamps so I used the post-it tape to mask and stamp them separately.  The banners I also adhered with foam adhesive.  I found some coordinating enamel dots for the bottom left corner and called it done.  I had so much fun with the silks and embossing.

Happy Stamping!

Wendy

Leave a Comment

