Christmas Card Kit: Meghan

Posted by Meghan

We’ve got tons of inspiration for you this month for the Christmas Card Kit, and I’m back today to show you what I created with mine! Christmas is my favourite card making occasion so I sat down and pumped these out on Sunday while watching a few movies.

This is another picture-heavy post, so I hope you’ve got a few minutes to sit and enjoy!

IMG_4151

This was my favourite, inspired by a card I saw on Pinterest by Donna Mikasa. I used my shimmery Heidi Swapp Teal Color Shine swiped across the white-embossed sentiment, did a few taps of ink and added gems. A quick and simple, stunning card inspired by one of my favourite card makers.

IMG_4183

For this one-layer Kraft Card, I used my 1.75″ Circle punch with the pretty silver foil 6×6 paper in the kit to make an ornament. I embellished with a gem, some of my own twine and some taps of Gold Heidi Swapp Color Shine. I used pretty much all of the Tim Holtz Christmas rub-ons in the kit – I love that the package came with black and white!

IMG_4162

Another fast card with a scrap of polka dot patterned paper from the Authentique 6×6 pad, a strip of the Snowflake Washi tape and rub-on sentiment. The Christmas tree is stamped in black Archival ink with the star shaped gemstones from the kit on top. QUICK TIP! The secret to success with rub-ons is to CUT OUT the one you want to use! Otherwise you will likely get transfer from the neighbouring rub-ons (I learned this lesson on the very first card I sat down to make).

IMG_4167

I didn’t want to cover up too much of the fun black polka dot patterned cardstock in the kit, so I used my Snowflake punch and added a strip of red cardstock with some rub-on snowflakes and sentiment. You can’t tell from this angle, but I trimmed the front right side a bit shorter to reveal the strip of snowflake washi tape on the inside of the card.

IMG_4153

Another black polka-dot card with scraps from the paper pad and stamps from the Vintage Christmas stamp set. Love the non-traditional colours, it’s a perfect card for a male co-worker, father or friend.

IMG_4174

Red Cardinal Bazzill cardstock is a staple for me every year for Christmas, so it was a no-brainer addition to our Christmas Card Kit. I cut out an image of Santa from one of the 6×6 patterned pieces and adhered it to more layered pieces of the 6×6 pad.

IMG_4157

This card features a white embossed Christmas Tree with a strip of green paper, a strip of washi tape, and a rub-on sentiment. For a true white, crisp image I always turn to embossing powder but for a more subtle look I recommend the Hero Arts Unicorn ink.

IMG_4155

I used the green pattern 8.5×11 cardstock from the kit in different ways to create these next two cards. For the one above, I just added some strips of paper from the 6×6 pad to ground the stamped bird image and cut out a sentiment from one of the patterned papers.

IMG_4172

I love a white/ivory card base and when I ran out I turned my green pattern card inside out for an unexpected surprise for the recipient. I hand cut a Christmas tree from the silver foil paper, added a sentiment and some gems and called it done.

Once I used up my 8.5×11 papers to make the above cards, I started to get creative by adjoining two pieces from the 6×6 pad to make standard 4.25×5.5 cards.

IMG_4160

Just score a crease in the card and add on as the back or the front – easy!

IMG_4159

For the card above, I embossed the small round starburst in gold, punched out with a 3/4″ circle punch and created a little tree on my last card base.

IMG_4152

This is another piece-meal card, put together with two pieces of 6×6 paper. I scalloped the edges of a third piece of polka-dot paper, stamped and added a rub-on sentiment.

IMG_4164

Once I started going I couldn’t stop – I stamped and embossed a white tree on this card front and added rub-ons. So simple. You can see inside the card where the two pieces are joined.

IMG_4181

Another card pieced together, with the little reindeers and the sentiment from the Vintage Christmas stamp set. I love the little square gems underlining the sentiment.

IMG_4170

I found a little strip of Pow glitter cardstock on my desk, which matched beautifully with this kit so I decided to test it out and see how rub-ons worked…

IMG_4171

Worked like a dream! The rub-ons adhered beautifully to the Pow Glitter cardstock!

IMG_4177

I should note that Wendy and I worked on our cards separately, so it was fun to see we both used the little Bough stamp to create a wreath and we both borrowed Sara’s idea to make a tree as well. QUICK TIP: To create the wreath, put a 1/4″ circle punch in the middle of your card with repositionable adhesive and stamp the bough repeatedly around the circle (careful not to get any of the stamped image on the circle, which will leave a chopped off bough when you remove the circle).

IMG_4166

Here’s a bonus picture of the mini cards I made to fit in the small silver envelopes, or attach to gifts:

IMG_4179

These kits are flying off the shelf after Wendy’s post yesterday, we both got a ton of mileage out of it, so be sure to call us to reserve yours! If we sell out, we can put you on a waitlist.  Because we had so much fun, we’re considering putting together a second Christmas Card kit before December using a mix of different colours – let us know if you’d like to reserve one!

I’m working on my card designs for my next Christmas Card class on November 19th, featuring a lovely Poinsettia stamp – stay tuned this time next week for a sneak peek! Please note that we have postponed this evening’s Perfect Pearls Album class – if you’re interested in signing up for another date, let us know.

Enjoy your weekend!

Signature

4 thoughts on “Christmas Card Kit: Meghan

  1. Oh my goodness! You certainly don’t need any inspiration, Meghan! Your cards are wonderful–all of them! Thanks so much for the shout out!

  2. Wowee! What a fabulous collection of cards! Thanks for playing along at CASE Study!

Leave a Comment

