Create-a-Card – Distress Markers

Posted by Wendy

I am challenging myself to pull products and items from my stash and use them – especially those items that I ‘had’ to have but haven’t used in a bit.  The result was tons of fun.  The supplies I used this week are:

create a card distress markers supplies 1/2

  • Stampers Anonymous “Papillon” stamp set
  • Vintage Photo Distress ink & applicator
  • Distress markers: rusty hinge, spiced marmalade, forest moss and fired brick

create a card Distress markers supplies 2/2

  • Foam adhesive
  • My Mind’s Eye Twine
  • Swagger 6×6 paper pad
  • Martha Stewart Stamp mounts
  • mini mister (not shown)
  • This to That adhesive
  • Neenah Dessert Sand cardstock – card base
  • watercolour paper cut with Tim Holtz Tag die (now shown)

image

I made the card bases for both cards out of the Neenah Dessert Sand card stock and then I found the panels for both cards in the swagger collection.  I used the 4 colors of distress markers to color the butterflies from the Papillon stamp set – I was not at all careful with how I did this other than to make sure I overlapped the colours as I moved from inside of image to outside. For the first card I huffed on the stamp and then stamped directly on the script paper, then I distressed the edges with vintage photo and layered the panel on top of the brown patterned paper on the card base.  I used the foam squares to adhere the butterfly piece and then I wrapped the card with twine.

image

For the second card I misted the stamp with water (I did not recolor this was leftover from my first stamp off) and then stamped directly on the patterned paper. I mounted that panel on top of a scrap of white, wrapped it with twine and adhered to card base.  I love how vibrant the colors became with just a mist of water.

image

Finally I had a watercolor tag on my desk and wanted to see if I could get a third stamped image from the stamp and yes I did!  It’s very muted but I think I could stamp a sentiment in brown archival and use this as a gift tag.  I stamped over the entire tag with the script part of the stamp set in vintage photo.  Love how fun the distress markers are and that I remembered I had them. 😉

Happy Stamping!

Wendy

Leave a Comment

