December Holiday Album – Wendy’s take

We love Ali Edwards December Daily project, and this year we decided to put together our own kit for those of you who love December Daily too! We put together a great selection of holiday products to make your holiday album prep as quick and easy as possible. I put mine together in ONE night, I kid you not! My album is on display at The Paperie if you’d like to take a look but I also promised several customers that I would post pictures on the blog.  So grab a coffee and beware – this is a picture heavy post!

Along with all the goodies in the kit, you also get a coupon for 20% off your choice of album so you aren’t locked in to one style. I chose a Simple Stories Snap album and added one extra pack of page protectors.

Wendy's Holiday Album

The cover of my album is covered in Silver Pow Glitter Paper and some washi that I happened to have in my stash.  I used the Thickers and embellishments in the kit to decorate.

image

My holiday album will be less of a daily recording this year and more of an attempt to capture all things Christmas.  For me that meant I could prepare my album in advance and just print the pictures and insert, then add some journalling where necessary. Scroll through the pictures below and feel free to ask any questions.

image

On the left page I put the tag into the little bag and tied with twine so that I can do some hidden journalling.  I added one of the 4×6 cards to the front of a piece of vellum and used my crop-a-dile to make it a stand alone page.

image

The Snap albums come with chipboard tabs and several card stock dividers – I chose to treat these as part of my album and covered one with various patterned/ speciality papers in the kit.

image

image

For the right hand page above I adhered patterned paper to one of the chipboard tab dividers and then added one of the 4×6 cards.  I then used washi to create a banner flap over the card – I love adding a few interactive elements throughout.

image

image

image

For the right hand side above I pulled out my sewing machine and stitched the vellum to the dotted kraft card stock to create a frame.

image

image

image

On the left page above I created another spot for hidden journalling but this time I used one of the tree paperclips as my pull.

image

On the right hand side of the page above I created a mini flip book with some patterned paper scraps, some of my border punches and washi and twine. In it I’m thinking I will add pictures of what my children give their teachers.

image

image

I love the vellum envelopes in the kit so much that I almost didn’t use it!  I added this one to the page on the left and then embellished with a sticker.  I placed one of the 3×4 grid cards inside so I can add some journaling.

image

image

The Snap album comes with full pages and with divided page protectors.  The kit plays well with this type of album as there are so many images that can be cut to fit.  I even pulled out my sewing machine to create a sealed pocket of the sequins.

image

image

image

image

image

I white heat embossed ‘Joy’ on one of the papers – the chalkboard look is so in right now.

image

So! That’s it, primed and ready to add my photos while the chaos of Christmas swirls around me. We still have some of our December Daily kits available at the shop, comment here or call us to reserve yours.

Tomorrow we’ll be back to show off Karen’s projects, so stay tuned!

Wendy

2 thoughts on “December Holiday Album – Wendy’s take

  1. Wendy you are amazing. To put it together in 1 night is fantastic.

    Dianne Smith

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Comment

