January Card Kit – Wendy’s take

Hi Everyone!

I’m back with January’s card kit – loved the splash of navy in this one; and the shimmer envelopes are gorgeous (we sell them individually at the store now too).

Here are my cards:

jan card kit Wendy 1/8

I cut the tag that was included into a banner, distressed with worn lipstick and tattered rose, added  a scrap of patterned paper, some sequins and misted with Perfect Pearls spray and layered – very easy.

Jan card kit Wendy 2/8Another simple card here.  I used some Post it tape to mask one of the stamps to just get the word happy and then used the alphas included to finish the greeting.  I outlined ‘happy’ with the brown bullet tip Wink of Stella pen to give it a bit more contrast.

Jan card kit Wendy 3/8

This might be my favourite; again some paper layering and I pulled out my old scallop border punch.  I masked one of the stamps with Post-it tape to get the ‘love you’.  I used the wood veneer raindrops and sequins to create flowers for this card.

Jan card kit Wendy 4/8

These wood veneer embellishments are substantial and are a great focal point.  I heat embossed the sentiment stamp with green VersaColor ink and clear embossing powder.  I have all of the mini VersaColor ink cubes and I find that I emboss more because they are out in plain sight next to my clear embossing powder.

I used Distress Paint (Broken China and Chipped Sapphire) to paint the wood veneer and then used a Viva pearl pen to fill in the cloud – super happy with how it turned out.

Jan card kit 5/8

I pulled out my black Wink of Stella brush pen for this cloud embellishment and used my Xcut heart punches paired with the sequins as ‘rain’.  I embossed the sentiment with Black Sparkle embossing powder and added panel to the pink base. Love that woodgrain patterned paper.

Jan card kit Wendy 6/8

This is another simple card – I coloured the wood veneer with Brush tip Wink of Stella (pink, light green, and violet) and then used a tag from my stash which I tore across the bottom and tied with the ribbon included in the kit. I white embossed the sentiment and called it done.

Jan card kit Wendy 7/8

I layered two patterned papers for the banner and stamped the sentiment with the Teal Zeal Memento luxe ink and tied some ribbon around the card base for this one. Love it when I can mix patterned paper – easy when it all comes in a kit.

Jan card kit Wendy 8/8

I used several Versacolor inks for this card and lined up all of the stamps on a large block (the Martha Stewart stamp mount) – the ink cubes make this easy to do as you have tons of control. I cut banners from two scraps and used a leftover heart I had cut for an earlier card with my Xcut punch. Here are the VersaColor ink cubes I used for the ombre effect:

image

Sara is joining me this month as a designer for the kit so stay tuned for her projects next week!

Thanks for stopping by!
Wendy

One thought on “January Card Kit – Wendy’s take

Leave a Comment

