Create-a-Card – Stencils, Pencils, and Gamsol!

Hi all;

I have a different card for you this time – I got a little messy!

Here are the supplies:

create a card supplies

  • Memento Tuxedo Black Ink
  • Archival Ink Jet Black
  • Washi tape
  • Lawn Fawn Stamps ‘Flutter By’
  • Avery Elle ‘Handwritten Notes’
  • Prismacolor pencils
  • Martha Stewart stamp block
  • Triangle 6×6 stencil – not shown
  • Adirondack gold paint dauber – not shown
  • Water-colour paper (card panel)
  • Neenah cardstock (card base)
  • Copic Multiliner
  • Scor-tape
  • Gamsol Kit – used to blend coloured pencils

create a card supplies

So truth be told I have a little challenge going on with myself to use up what I have … don’t get me wrong I’ll still be getting new product, but I also want to use the great supplies I already own. So I pulled out a stencil I have wanted to use and my Prisma pencils and Gamsol kit.

Here’s the card:

create a card

Instructions:

  • Apply gold paint with dauber through stencil onto watercolor panel
  • Ink edges of panel with gold
  • Stamp ‘I Am Sorry’ sentiment with Archival Ink
  • Stamp butterfly from Lawn Fawn set onto Neenah card stock using Memento Ink
  • Apply strips of washi to top and bottom
  • Using Prismacolor pencils create an outline on butterfly image and blend using Gamsol kit

before gambol

This picture shows how I used 3 colours of pencil and just coloured around the edges of the butterfly image. Next I used the blending stub in the kit and applied the mineral spirits to break down the wax in the pencil which then allowed me to blend it until it looked like this:

image

Neat huh?

  • Cut out the butterfly and adhere to card panel using a glue dot
  • Fold up edges of wings to add dimension and doodle antenna and trail with Copic multi-liner
  • Add panel to card base

Done!

The Gamsol Kit was something I wanted to try which can be ordered in at the shop; see this link for detailed instructions as to how it works.

Happy Stamping!

Wendy

One thought on “Create-a-Card – Stencils, Pencils, and Gamsol!

Leave a Comment

