February Scrapbook Kit Debut

Posted by Cathie

I love opening The Paperie’s kit each month to see the goodies and get my mojo going. As soon as I leave the store, I start planning my layouts.  It was easy to get inspired this month. There’s a great combination of patterned papers, an Alison Kreft overlay, sequins, Maya Road camera clips and more.

 And here’s what I made this month…

PIC 1_Cathie Feb 2014

The first page is always the hardest for me because I’m afraid of using up or ruining supplies.  You know how it is. Once I got over that silliness, I just layered up some of the lovelies from the kit.  The die cut tag is from a pack included in the kit. The tags are white which makes them perfect for altering. I used Studio Calico’s Mister Huey, Splash. Here’s a close up.

PIC 2_Cathie Feb 2014

I did add a doily from my stash that I colored using Studio Calico’s Mister Huey, Hey Diddle, Diddle and then glittered up using my favorite Distress Stickles, Platinum.  You can just seeing it peeking out there under all those layers.

PIC 3_Cathie Feb 2014

This next page was inspired by the popular brush lettering trend we’re seeing everywhere in scrapbooking these days. It was a huge trend at CHA 2014 and The Paperie just brought in some bamboo brushes that are perfect for this technique.

I put my own little twist on the trend and came up with glitter-brush lettering. I dipped a large round brush into my Goosebumps texture spray and wrote the word love on a piece of pattern paper from the kit. Then I covered everything in Platinum Distress Glitter and set it aside to dry. When it was dry, I tapped off the excess and cut out my word. Then I stuck everything down on the overlay by Alison Kreft from the Recorded Collection.

Here’s a close up. I like that you can see the pattern paper in the places where there isn’t a lot of glitter.

PIC 4_Cathie Feb 2014

Glitter-brush lettering is really easy to do but I will admit that I practiced a few times on some scrap paper first. I also did a second coat of Goosebumps and glitter for places that didn’t have enough glitter.

PIC 5_Cathie Feb 2014

This layout was one of those that took a lot of time. It actually looked completely different but I didn’t like it so I took it apart and started over.  I didn’t hold back when it came to the sequins. I loaded them onto the page and used Liquitex Fluid Matte Medium to stick them down.

Here’s a close-up…

PIC 6_Cathie Feb 2014

This is my last 12×12 layout. It’s pretty simple because there wasn’t much left of the kit by this point but I couldn’t resist making one more layout with that gorgeous paper.  I layered up some squares of paper and added a few embellishments.  And before I stuck everything down, I sprayed some Studio Calico Mister Huey’s (Hey Diddle, Diddle and Splash) through some stencils to add some interest to the background.

PIC 7_Cathie Feb 2014

Here’s a close up.

PIC 8_Cathie Feb 2014

And how about something a little different?

PIC 9_ Cathie Feb 2014

I made 2 spreads using the super popular pocket-pages. They’re not just for Project Life! I like to use the page protectors and albums from the SN@P Collection. I really love the smaller size and it’s so easy to have a layout with multiple photos.  (The page protectors came from my stash and are not included in the kit.)

To get started, I adhered my photo directly to my absolute favorite paper in the kit. It’s from Studio Calico’s Print Shop collection. And by cutting it up, I know I’ll get a lot of use out of one sheet of paper.

PIC 10_Cathie Feb 2014

Then I stapled through the lot to hold everything in place in the page protector.  I covered the staples with some washi tape – also found in the kit. Then I added the rest of my pics and a space leftover for journaling in the other page protector.

Here’s a look at the backside of the second page.

PIC 11_Cathie Feb 2014

Again, I started by adhering my photo directly to patterned paper.

PIC 12_Cathie Feb 2014

For this one, I wanted create a sequin pocket so I cropped my 4×6 photos to fit in the 3×4 pockets. I knew I would have enough room for photos, journaling and embellishing.

PIC 13_Cathie Feb 2014

I was just going to stitch the top closed but Ben was helping me sew and didn’t want to stop so we went all the way around. I liked how it looked. So, I did the same thing on the 6×8 page protector.

And here’s a look at the backside of the page.

PIC 14_Cathie Feb 2014

And that’s everything. Thanks for sticking with me through this long post. I hope you enjoy this month’s kit from The Paperie. I look forward to seeing what you create. If you have any questions about techniques or supplies used, just a leave a note in the comments and I’ll get back to you ASAP!

Cathie

________________________________________________

Cathie has a Kids Art Class coming up on Sunday, February 8th suitable for children ages 7-15. This class is just for the kids, parents can drop them off at 2pm and pick up at 4pm, giving the little ones a chance to do what kids do best – get their hands dirty and let their imaginations run wild! Here’s the class blurb:

Kids Art Class – An Artistic Altered Book | Sunday, February 9th | 2-4pm
Instructor: Cathie Reed

kids art class altered book - feb 9 kids art class altered book Feb. 9

In this fun class kids will take an old, unloved book and transform it into a piece of art. Each child will create an altered book using their imagination and lots of fun products like paint, ink, Gelatos and more. Kids are guaranteed to have fun painting, collaging and stamping away the afternoon as they create their very own piece of art using artist-quality materials! It’s the perfect project for your budding artist. Ages 7+ (call if you have any questions).
Price:$30.00

Leave a Comment

