February Kit – Janna’s take

Posted by Janna

I, like Cathie, love busting open a page kit and am eager to get started each month. February’s kit was packed with goodies and products that were fun and easy to play with.

Here’s a card I made. I usually make the cards with the leftovers after I have made my layouts. Love overlays and by using a band of paper and washi tape on one side, you can hide adhesive and leave one side open to tuck something underneath. The word “love” is under the overlay. The “u” is on top. Sequins down the paper band add a little shimmer to the card.

feb kit - Janna

There are no rules when it comes to the monthly kit. Make what you like. I love switching up layout sizes too, so here is the first of two 8.5×11 layouts that I created. I incorporated a circle punch to create a border of circles on the left side of the page. Each wood veneer heart is adhered with a dimensional adhesive so give them some depth. I coloured one heart with a Wink of Stella gold pen to add glitter and highlight one heart.

image

I had a lot of fun with the next layout. This is a baby photo of my husband that I found and I couldn’t resist using it. I used one of the tags, which are fantastic for spraying in a colour to complement your patterned paper, and tucked the underlay behind the word “love.” The clouds were stamped with a set I had in my stash and adhered with dimensional adhesive.

image

I had fun with the circle pattern I created at the bottom left of this next page. Used some Hero Arts circle stamps from my stash and embossed a couple of them with white and clear embossing powder to add subtle dimension.

image

With my Glossy Accents, and lots of little sequins from the pack included, I created the sparkly heart at the center of this next layout by gluing the sequins to one of the large wood veneer hearts. The title “True Story” is one of the alterable tags, the with words cropped and used on their own.

image

Got out my sprays and a stencil for this layout. I stencilled the pattern in the right corner with a Mr. Huey’s opaque white spray, and then sprayed the wood veneer hearts in a fun Dylusions Vibrant Turquoise. The “love this” tag was sprayed with Jenni Bowlin’s Navy Color Shine – one of my fav’s. Cathie had a great tip a few months ago to add a few drops of Liquitex fluid matte medium to the opaque white spray which prevents it from rubbing off on your fingers (and your page protectors!)

image

Last layout was super quick and easy. Using scraps of paper left over, and adding sequins to the chalk dots on the patterned paper.

image

Thanks for taking a peek at the fun I had with this kit. Any questions on product or technique, please just ask 🙂

We still have a limited number of kits available for $39.99 each, or you can start a six month subscription and get the monthly kits for $34.99. I find scrapbooking with kits to be stress-free, and at our Crop Night this month Krista will pass along some great tips for ‘killing a kit’ – call the store to register.

Janna

 

3 thoughts on “February Kit – Janna’s take

Leave a Comment

