Mojo Monday – Fussy Cutting

Posted by Janna

“Fussy Cutting” is a term we use when we want to trim a particular image from a larger one, or a series of images.

Your Mojo Monday challenge this week is to share a project that you created that incorporates an element of  “fussy cutting.”

Although “fussy cutting” requires time, patience and a great pair of scissors (I love my Cutterbee titanium scissors), this technique serves  me well when I’m making cards or adding embellishments to a project.

I decided to take out the Elizabeth Craft Designs products I had in my stash and make a thank you card for a friend.

I found a Christmas sticker sheet and decided to cut the bird from the ornament and use a few of the leaves.

Image

I adhered the bird to white cardstock and coloured the bird, then decided to mount the images onto one of the Elizabeth Crafts Shimmer Sheets. I used this one as a flat background, but they dry-emboss really nicely as well leaving a cool effect.

Image

I added a border to the Shimmer Sheet with a Sharpie marker because the sheets are nonporous.

Image

Stamped a message on some washi with StazOn ink, assembled my leaves and popped the bird off the card with some dimensional adhesive, et voila!

IMG_0766

Don’t forget to upload your completed projects to our Mojo Monday gallery on Facebook or comment with a link to your project on Flickr, Twitter, your blog, etc. Want to try out the Elizabeth Craft Designs products? Drop by and see us and we will point you in the right direction 🙂

Have fun!

Janna

Leave a Comment

