Inspired By… our kids art class

Hi Everyone!

This week my inspired by post is a little different. My daughter Lily attended The Paperie’s kids art class taught by Cathie Reed this month and boy did she have fun. I am not the type of person who dives in to new things easily, rather I approach new product/ techniques tentatively and I avoid mess. As I watched my daughter during the class while she altered a book that Cathie had prepped I realized that she was really into it. Kids have a different approach to art and paper crafting – they tend to abandon rules and make something their own; they have no inhibitions about what others might like – it’s all about them. One of my daughters pages looked like this:

image

On one of the pages Cathie had them experiment with the Viva Decor crackle paste through a stencil – I love the look and so did Lily. When I came home that night I wanted to try some of the mixed media products I have accumulated either through classes or wanting to test our products so I can recommend or at least speak to with some level of knowledge. I pulled out my silver Viva Decor and put it through a dot-stencil to create a photo mat – love how it dried; the texture is gorgeous.

image

I made the larger stars with the Epiphany tool (I’m slightly addicted to it) and then added some star enamel dots along with washi and a vellum camera for some layering. Love this shot of my son and his best friend.

Hope you are inspired by a child’s approach to art this week.

Wendy

There will be several kids classes at The Paperie over the coming months check out the class listing for details.

One thought on “Inspired By… our kids art class

  1. Love everything about this post, Wendy! Your source of inspiration and how you used mixed media products to suit your style – it’s wonderful! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Comment

