March 2014 Scrapbook Kit: Designer Lori Smith!

Today we have a TON of inspiration to share with you featuring our March Scrapbook kit. Simple Stories is featured prominently this month, with lots of lovely papers from three of their popular collections. Also included are some October Afternoon Daily Flash Enamel Dots & Flair Badges, American Crafts Thickers (look at all those a’s!) and more Simple Stories stickers and die-cuts. Lori is our March Designer and she took this great picture to show all the delightful goodies included in this months kit…

Paperie 2014 March Scrapbook Monthly Kit - LS

All I can say is WOW! Lori really outdid herself with this kit! Let’s get right to the fabulous inspiration… I have a feeling you might want to run to your scrapbook room after reading this post!

lori smith Paperie march 2014 scrapbook kit-good times & great memories - Copy

To create a “shining star” background, I misted my black CS with Studio Calico White mist and let it dry until slightly tacky. I  then took my finger and made an X through each of the droplets.

lori smith Paperie march 2014 scrapbook kit-good times & great memories

The speech balloon paper was fabulous and I knew that I wanted to fussy cut one of the strips and put a sentence sticker and enamel hearts in some of the speech balloons.

Hashtag1

Social media is popular and on sites such as Twitter, Pinterest, Instagram and many others,  you can add a hashtag (#) in front of words or sentences as a data search on a specific topic.  I thought it was a pretty neat (and trendy) idea to make a title for a layout!

Hashtag2

Hashtag: The Oxford dictionary definition: A word or phrase preceded by a hash sign (#), used on social media sites such as Twitter to identify messages on a specific topic.

lori smith Paperie march 2014 scrapbook kit-tea time

I love adding different elements to my projects. Twine is awesome for adding that soft touch to a layout.

lori smith Paperie march 2014 scrapbook kit-tea time close up

I also love doodling around my layouts edges and paper layers using a PITT Pen or Signo pen.

lori smith Paperie march 2014 scrapbook kit-a week in the life at orlando

As soon as I saw the weekday journaling tags I knew I wanted to add them to a layout with a “Week in the life” title.

lori smith Paperie march 2014 scrapbook kit-a week in the life at orlando-mickey made of pics

I love how this turned out with the circular photos. 

{Editors note: Next up is our most favourite layout! A-M-A-Z-I-N-G!}

lori smith Paperie march 2014 scrapbook kit-been there done that

MAP PAPER was in the kit and Newfoundland was on it!!! The idea for this layout came to me when I was looking at the paper and places I traveled to on it.

lori smith Paperie march 2014 scrapbook kit-been there done that closeup

The kit had the elements such as enamel dots, twine, geotag sticker and the “we are here” sticker. It was meant to be!!! This is in the top ten of my favourite layouts I have ever created!!

lori smith-paperie march 2014 scrapbook kit-canvas-home is where the heart is

I loved using the papers in the kit to create this canvas. I created dimension by outlining the paper edges with a charcoal pen and my PITT Pens. I added a paper clip to create “smoke”.

lori smith-paperie march 2014 kit-canvas-prima dolls-playing dressup

I saw this quote by Kate Spade on Pinterest, and I knew I wanted to use it on a canvas using the Prima Julie Nutting Dolls for my closet wall.
Didn’t you just love playing with paper dolls as a child? This certainly bought back old memories! 

lori smith-paperie march 2014 kit-canvas-prima dolls-playing dressup close up dresses

I stamped certain parts of the stamps on glitter POW paper and fussy cut them to make the sparkly shoes, bow, crowns and bodice on one of the dolls. Now I want POW paper in every color!!!

lori smith-paperie march 2014 kit-canvas-prima dolls-playing dressup-brick background

When I made my title I had no “E’s” or “R’s” left in the block letters. Instead of having a creative mental meltdown, I took my Signo White Pen and made an “R” out of a “P” and an “E” out of an “F”  (insert happy dance)!!!!

lori smith-paperie march 2014 kit-hollywood studios

I used my TCW star stencil and created some stars using my charcoal pencil. I love hidden journaling and used it on this layout. Did you notice the mini reel?

lori smith-paperie march 2014 kit-hollywood studios-close up1

I really liked the view master colored reel. I cut it in half and used it in two areas of the layout.  The title worked out well positioned around the reel.

lori smith-paperie march 2014 kit-love you 365 days a year 7 days a week

I used TCW Dots and Dashes 12x 12 stencil  with Studio Calico white mist. I let it dry for about 10 mins and then took a baby wipe and wiped the edges of the paper and then the center of the cardstock to create a painted look. The days of the week labels were my inspiration for this layout.

lori smith-paperie march 2014 kit-love you 365 days a year 7 days a week-closeup masking and baby wipe technique

When I did the title I had run out of the letter “Y” so I made one with an X. Look closely at the “E’s” in “week”. They are made of “F’s” and a cut up “z”. Of course I added doodling with my black PITT pen around the edges and papers.

lori smith-paperie march 2014 kit-space mountain- silhouette cut stars

I was in bed one night and the idea for this layout popped into my head! I got up the next am, opened up my Silhouette Studio and began to organize stars in a pattern.

lori smith-paperie march 2014 kit-space mountain-close up-popped silhouette star background on pc

I put in white CS and cut it, turned out perfectly! Want to know a secret? Before I started the layout I cut the center out of the navy cardstock and left a 1″ edge and stuck the cut edge to another piece of white CS. I immediately had an extra piece of navy CS to do my layout!!! As you can see I cut a strip and stamped it with white ink and a polka dot stamp.

lori smith-paperie march 2014 kit-space mountain-close up-popped silhouette star background with stars

I created the center of my layout adding a pic and paper. I doodled around the stars with my PITT pen to create stitching. Then the magic began!

I added gold and silver POW paper to the small stars  by taping them over the stars on the back. I even used drywall tape for one of the stars.

IMG_0006

I then added patterned paper/cardstock to the larger stars by adding pop dots to the back side around the stars and cutting out pieces  and stuck them over the pop dots. I then added pop dots all over the layout and added it to my “altered” navy cardstock.

{Editors Note: Lori has sent us a copy of the star cut file available for anyone who purchases the March kit – email us if you’d like to have it! Isn’t she nice?}

lori smith-paperie march 2014 kit-week in the life mini cover
For this mini album I raided my stash at home and cut a piece of chipboard into a 5.5 square x 2. I cut 7 pieces of white CS 5.5 x 11 and folded them in half. I used 2 way tape to join the pieces to each other leaving the front and back pages to tape to the chipboard cover. I got a piece of twine and laid it on the spine. Then I used sticky back canvas for the spine 5.5 x 2″ and used Bo Bunny Aquamarine dot paper for the chipboard cover.

lori smith-paperie march 2014 kit-week in the life mini front and back cover

I distressed the edges of the album with my scissor edge. Then I decorated the front and back covers.  I raided my stash once again and got my wood camera and Evalicious badge. The yellow washi tape is from a previous kit. The stamp on the back cover is TT Ali Edwards “It’s OK” set. The title I once again altered my letters. The “E” in “the” is made from an “F”. I added the white line to create an “E” with my white signo pen. The “H” took a bit more effort. I made it from a “P”. I added a line with my white pen and the took my red marker and created the top of the H.

lori smith-paperie march 2014 kit-week in the life-inside page

{back cover above, inside of the album below}

lori smith-paperie march 2014 kit-week in the life mini back cover close up

Thanks SO much to Lori for sharing a little bit about each layout, they are beautiful as always.

The March kit is still available for $39.99 for non-subscribers. You can also start up a six month subscription for $34.99 a month!

Happy Scrapping!

6 thoughts on “March 2014 Scrapbook Kit: Designer Lori Smith!

  1. wow! wow! wow! These are amazing, Lori. I love all the little details you put into all your projects. I can hardly wait to see these in real life. ps: thanks for the inspiration and the cut file!

  2. Lori, these layouts are spectacular. Love everyone of them. You are so incredibly talented my dear friend. Cannot wait to play with this kit (which is also gorgeous – way to go Paperie Gals). Love the kit and all the inspiration.

  3. Thanks for the comments ladies! I definetly had a creative streak in February! I loved this kit. The Paperie gals certainly did a wonderful job putting it together. When they gave me the kit, I was immediately drawn to all the wonderful colours, beautiful papers and embelishments. I knew I would enjoy creating projects to share with everyone. I hope everyone enjoys working on this kit as much as I have.

Leave a Comment

