Create-a-Card: Flame stencil

Hi Everyone!

As you know I have been challenging myself to use supplies I already own but haven’t played with – stencils definitely fit that bill.  I have quite a few for someone who doesn’t use them and recently saw some great ideas online for using stencils on cards so I decided to make a few.

Here is this week’s card:

flame stencil card

My son’s friend had a birthday this weekend and Jacob wanted a ‘cool’ card so I remembered I had the flame stencil.  Here are the supplies I used:

image

Supplies:

  • Hero Arts dye ink – Black
  • Flame stencil
  • Martha Stewart stamp mount
  • fishers card size paper cutter
  • tombow stamp adhesive runner
  • Distress Inks: mustard seed, rusty hinge, spiced marmalade, fired brick & scattered straw
  • Distress Ink applicators and foam
  • Neenah Solar White cardstock
  • Washi tape
  • Avery Elle Stamp set “Handwritten Notes”

image

Instructions:

  1. Use washi tape to tape down card panel to craft mat
  2. Mask off an area for the greeting with a narrow scrap of card stock
  3. Tape stencil down just in the corners
  4. Apply Fired Brick Distress Ink with the foam applicator pulling up in the direction of the flames
  5. Proceed to apply all other colours of Distress Ink going from dark to light
  6. Use Scattered Straw Distress Ink to blend and fill in any areas missing ink
  7. Shift stencil slightly to the left, tape down and repeat ink application
  8. Pull up stencil and remove masked piece of cardstock
  9. Using Hero Arts Dye Ink, stamp the Avery Elle birthday sentiment
  10. Adhere the card panel to the card base with adhesive

*I worked on a card panel even though I wanted this to be a one layer card since I didn’t want to risk getting ink on the back half of the card base.

Sprays are fun but I love the control you have when using Distress Inks with stencils.

Happy Stamping!

Wendy

One thought on “Create-a-Card: Flame stencil

Leave a Comment

