April Page Kit – Rae Lynn’s take

Hi everyone,

Rae Lynn here, with my take on the April 2014 Scrapbook Kit.

As many of you know, I lean heavily toward the clean and simple style of scrapbooking, so I tend to use the cardstock (and not the pattern papers) as the base for my layouts. And of course, I didn’t deviate from that trend with this kit. I completed eight layouts and only one layout has pattern paper as the background (and that was a small print / tone-on-tone paper). I typically use the pattern papers as layering elements on my pages.

This kit includes awesome wood veneer (feathers), wooden buttons, enamel dots, ribbon, letter stickers, and foam alphas, and glitter paper that was fun to play with.

image

I loved the pattern papers in this kit because it included dots, lines/ledger, and small patterns – the type of papers I tend to purchase. However, the jumping off point of this kit is a colourful sheet of paper called Adorbs Hello Call paper from the Cut & Paste line [by My Mind’s Eye (MME)]. This sheet of paper has speech balloons, geo tags, and circles.

CP1015

Layout 1: You are Awesome

For my first layout, I fussy cut some shapes from this sheet of paper and did a simple layout of my niece Aliceyn. I cut a 4×6 photo down to 2.5×6 and then arranged the shapes and some pink enamel dots to the right of the photo. I stamped my title using a stamp from the Technique Tuesday Ali Edwards (TT AE) set called Super Fantastic. I added a few tiny wood veneer hearts that I coloured navy blue with my Ranger Distress Marker (Chipped Sapphire). To cluster the photo, title and embellishments, I used a rotary hole piercing tool to create the 5×7.5” rectangular border.

RLOK_L1_YouAreAwesome

Layout 2: Popcorn Lover

Another layout that I tend to favour is a simple grid layout. For this second layout, I used two 3×4 photos and two decorative bags that I had sitting on my crop table. (I can’t remember where I bought bags but the red polka dot and yellow strip bags worked perfectly with Aliceyn’s popcorn costume.)

I used the Martha Stewart Pinking Circle punch and some flare badges to embellish this page. I added journaling inside the bags and used the Jenni Bowlin Tab punch to create tabs to pull the journal cards out of the bags. The Paperie carries a great selection of punches and both of these punches were purchased at The Paperie.

I loved how Ali hot-glued popcorn to a red had to complete her Halloween costume, so I just had to scrapbook these photos.

RLOK_L2_PopcornLover

RLOK_L2_PopcornLove_Closeup

Layout 3: So Very Happy

For my third layout, I used a Dylusions 9×12 stencil called Blocks-Large (DYS40613), Broken China Distress Ink, and a foam applicator tool to create the blue background behind my papers and photo. I love using stencils to add pattern to cardstock.

I anchored the papers and photo by adding a strip of dark gray washi tape. Then I added a row of tiny hearts to draw your eye to the page title, which is a combination of the October Afternoon letter stickers and a stamped image from Technique Tuesday Ali Edwards stamp set. I punched the hearts from the Adorbs Hello Call paper (above) using the Martha Stewart Confetti Hearts punch which I also got at the Paperie.

RLOK_L3_SoVeryHappy

RLOK_L3_SoVeryHappy_Wink

I coloured the wood veneer heart and ampersand with a Zig Wink of Stella Brush Pen (GL Lt. Green 041). You need to own these glittery paint brush pens. I can’t get enough of the sparkly glitter. Seriously, these brush pens have been my favourite recent purchase. They come in 16 colours. If you buy just one – buy the black. But I bet you won’t buy just one after you use them. Their coverage is amazing. I’ve coloured water colour paper, wood veneer, wooden buttons, etc. with these brush markers.

RLOK_WinkOfStella

Layout 4: Making Valentines

For my fourth layout, I used a water colour paper and distress ink to create my background. I attended a Distress Renewed class with Sara and had come home to continue to play with my Ranger Distress Inks. For this layout, I used four colours of Distress Ink (Picked Raspberry, Peacock Feathers, Salty Ocean, and Shaded Lilac). I “smooshed” the ink pads onto my Ranger Craft Mat and then sprayed it with Perfect Pearls mist until the water/ink beaded up. Then I laid my water colour paper in the ink. When the ink/water dried, I cut the water colour paper down to a 9.5×9.5” square and adhered it to the white cardstock included in the kit. I journaled around the perimeter of the square.

RLOK_L4_MakingValentines

I anchored the photos with a strip of star pattern paper cut into a banner and the bar code strip on the Adorbs Hello Call paper. I coloured a few buttons with the purple Wink of Stella (GL Violet 080) brush pen. Glitter – love!! (Call The Paperie to hold some of these for you!)

RLOK_L4_MakingValentines_Wink1

RLOK_L4_MakingValentines_Wink2

Layout 5: Love You

For my fifth layout, I placed a strip of 1/8” double-sided tape to the top and bottom of the grey paper and adhered the green ribbon to the tape. I cut a few photo mats from the pattern papers included in the kit and then used Peeled Paint and Mowed Lawn Distress Ink to give the pattern papers darker green edges.

I used the bar code strip from the MME Adorbs Special Striking paper to the left of my photos/pattern paper. I cut an arrow from the green glitter paper to mimic the arrows in the bar code strip. I used my green Wink of Stella Brush Pen (GL Green 040) to colour the three wooden buttons and adhered them over a few arrows cut from the speech balloons on the MME Adorbs Hello Call paper.

RLOK_L5_LoveYou

I used Martha Stewart Fringe Scissors to “fray” the bottom edge of the paper below the page title to mimic the frayed ends of Aliceyn’s green hat. The Fringe Scissors have five blades on one side and four blades on the opposite side and they make multiple cuts with a single snip. These are awesome for making grass!

RLOK_L5_LoveYou_Finge

Layout 6: Smile

I adhered eight strips of “word” washi tape on a slight angle to the BoBunny Shadow Double Dot paper to create a background that is approximately 5” wide. I cut a piece of floral pattern paper (reverse side of the Studio Calico – Print Shop – To the Moon and Back paper) and then I overlapped my photos across the pattern paper. I cut the words from the 3×4 feather wood veneer piece. I used a nail file to sand/round the edges of the wood. Then I inked the wood with white ink (and I did the same with the feathers).

RLOK_L6_Smile

RLOK_L6_Smile_Veneer

Layout 7: Love This!

For my seventh layout, I stamped an image multiple times across the page (using Technique Tuesday Urban Blueprint stamp). I cut three pieces of a pattern paper to 5×7 inches (Blue Hombre, Red Ledger, Grey Triangles). I frayed the edges of each piece using one blade of my scissors. I inked the edge of the ledger paper in Barn Door (Red) Distress Ink. I adhered two pieces of the pattern paper in a staggered pattern. Then I cut a ½” banner strip of red paper and stamped my title on the right side. I adhered the banner about 1 inch from the bottom edge of the ledge paper. I added the third piece of pattern paper and my photo. My journaling is hidden on a 3×4 card that is tucked behind the triangle pattern paper.

RLOK_L7_LoveThis

I coloured the LOVE wood veneer piece with my Chipped Sapphire Distress Marker. I coloured the wooden button and veneer hearts with my Barn Door (Red) Distress Marker.

RLOK_L7_LoveThis_Veneer

Layout 8: Pretty Petty Harbour

For my eighth layout, I used a piece of water colour paper and added colour to match my photos using Heidi Swapp’s Color Shine mists. From top to bottom, I used Citron, Chartreuse, Teal, and Navy.

RLOK_L8_PrettyPettyHarbour

I simply took the applicator out of the bottle and touched the tip against the paper in a zig-zag pattern and then spread it out using a Ranger Waterbrush (Broad Nib). I used a lot of water to get a light water colour feel.

RLOK_L8_PrettyPettyHarbour_ColourShine

(Love how the enamel dots coordinate perfectly with the Color Shine!)

HeidiSwapp_ColorShine

The Heidi Swapp Color Shine mists are available in 18 beautiful intense (and shimmery) colours. Both the mists and waterbrush are available at The Paperie.

Thanks for stopping by, call The Paperie at 726-5323 to see if they have any kits left, or comment here – also feel free to leave any other questions or comments!

Rae Lynn

3 thoughts on “April Page Kit – Rae Lynn’s take

  1. These are such lovely pages, Rae Lynn. I love how you incorporate mixed media techniques and products with your clean and simple style.

Leave a Comment

