April Card Kit – Wendy’s take

Hi all;

I can’t even tell you how much fun it is to put these kits together and then design with them. At first this kit seemed to have a more masculine theme to it due to the colours, however it’s funny how when you play with a kit you never know what you’ll end up with. I managed to get 8 cards, a tag and a set of project life cards from this kit and still had at least 4 sheets of 6×6 patterned paper left over!

Here are the kit contents this month:

image

And here are my cards:

image

For this card I used the polka dot paper as my card base. I used the Georgia Peach Heidi Swapp Color Shine to tap some colour onto the card base. Next I cut some leftover scraps into banners and adhered under a strip of the orange patterned paper – I only put adhesive near the top of the banner pieces os I could bend them back to give a bit of dimension. I used my heart Xcut punch (great little punch at a super reasonable price which I use all the time) to punch 3 mini hearts from some of the green paper, adhered them and covered with glossy accents. I used the letter stickers to create the sentiment which is a very specific sentiment I needed for a friend about to go through a challenging time.

image

This next card was very simple and one that I will be replicating for sure – great way to use up ends of paper.  I used the ivory as my card base and adhered 4 strips of patterned paper horizontally. Next I used a pilot pen and hand wrote my greeting. I used my crop-a-dile to punch some dots from one of the cork tags included in the kit and adhered them as embellishments with glossy accents.

image

This card was one of the last ones I did and I realized I had not used the ribbon – another very easy one that can be modified to suit the greeting. I used the ivory card stock as the base again and cut a smaller panel from patterned paper and adhered it off centre. I tied the ribbon, looping it twice and then in a bow which I stuck down using a glue dot. I used a circle punch to cut circles which I popped off with foam squares to layer the greeting.

image

This card is one of my favourites because I used product that I don’t typically use. I wanted to make a more feminine card so I used the polka dot as the base and then a piece of white from my stash. I used Ranger glitter embossing powder to emboss the typewriter image and then scribbled 3 colours of gelatos over the image. I used a baby wipe to blend the colour. I then used an enamel dot from my stash and adhered it all to the base.

image

Another very simple card – I like having a few blank note cards in the mix. I used the rust coloured paper as the base and rounded the edges to give it a finished look. I white heat embossed the typewriter and used a tone on tone approach (brown memento) to stamp the sentiment. Added some twine and called it done!

image

Love the look of the patterned paper cut on an angle – takes a busy print and makes it less overwhelming. I used the woodgrain adhesive die cut as the frame for the stamped typewriter and embellished with some twine. Again I used the letter stickers to complete my sentiment.

image

For this one I also used the rust as the base and created a panel with the striped yellow patterned paper. I made a pennant banner by cutting up one of the cork tags and using it to layer my sentiment.

image

This card was fun to do – I used a Lawn Cuts, Lawn Fun die to create the 3×4 panel and then layered strips of leftover paper behind the cut-outs. Added one of the cameras and some faux stitching and called it done. Can’t wait to try different combinations of that die.

image

Very simple tag that came together quickly as the tag base was included. I used my heart epiphany tool in the negative space of the strip at the bottom, letter stickers and some ribbon to finish it off.

image

If you’ve been following my card kit posts you know that I like to use any bits leftover to create filler cards for my Project Life Album. I spent a little more time on this set as I seemed to have so much leftover with this kit… the scraps are perfect and any of these could also be used one a card or layout as well. For me they will form the base of a weekly spread in my album.

Call the store today to reserve your kit – they seem to be selling out quickly lately. Did you know you can also reserve future kits so you’re sure to get your hands on them?

Thanks for stopping by!

Wendy

Leave a Comment

