Our 18th Scrapbook Retreat is almost here!

We are so very excited to be preparing for our 18th Scrapbook Retreat!

For those of you who are already registered, the countdown is on – are you counting the sleeps??

Just a reminder for our participants, that we have our Retreat Page Planning Discount Days this week to help you get prepared!

ENJOY a TAX FREE Discount on one of the following days:

Thursday, April 24th
or
Friday, April 25th
or
Saturday, April 26th

Please note: Discount is for regular priced merchandise only, cannot be used toward product on hold. You are able to collect stamps on your frequent buyer cards on these days, however the tax free discount cannot be combined with full frequent buyer cards.

Not registered yet?? There are some spaces available! Call us now to reserve your spot! 726-5323

Check out what these instructors pack in their

‘must-take’ Retreat bag:

It would be very tricky to take everything we own to the Retreat, so we thought we would post a few photos from a couple of our instructors so that our participants could see what they value as must-haves at the Retreat weekend.

Sara says:

“I am the most terrible packer and organizer for crops and retreats – I want to bring everything! But I’m getting better and I’m going to show you how I organize and store all my stuff so it’s easy to find and portable too!

My big pieces of advice?

1. Use kits

2. Put all your supplies in clear, portable storage containers, and

3. Label everything!

When leaving my house to scrapbook, I bring basic colours of cardstock, or what I consider basic backgrounds, stored in stackable drawers, and Paperie club kits. That’s it for my paper. It guarantees that I have coordinating supplies – the kits do that for you! – and enough basic paper to put it all on.

I also bring a set of stackable drawers containing my punches – now all my paper and punches are in view and I have more storage space on top of each drawer unit.

And then it gets tangly, what bits and bobs do you bring and what do you leave? I store everything in clear containers so it’s easy to see and easy to move. For a retreat I grab my Distress and Archival inks, my Ranger mists (all in clear portable containers), letter stickers, tabs and labels (all in clear envelopes in binders), and drop my stamps in the basket holding my kits. Tools go in one of two divided spinners, and embellishments go in my Tim Holtz Cargo Case. It’s still a lot of stuff, but it’s way less than it used to be!

It’s also more organized now because all my mists are colour coded so I can see what colour I want at a glance and all my inks are labeled with names. Plus, my most used embellishment, wood veneer, are stored on my paper drawers in individual containers for a quick grab!

I never have to rummage through bins looking for tools, I just spin my unit and find what I want. Scissors in one space, files in another, paint brushes in another, and so on.

Finally, I store all my stencils in an album that has 6×6 divided page protectors for the small stencils, 5.5×8.8 protectors for the medium stencils, and 12×12 protectors for the large ones. They’re all together, easy to grab, and super simple to find the design I need!

As you can see, setting all this up at a table is simple, it really takes no time at all since I don’t have to unpack anything, and I can still see all the people around me – vital at a retreat! J Most importantly, I still have room to work!

To sum up, make it easy to see and portable, and label whatever you can – that’s it! Oh, and have fun!”

clear portable storage and stencil albumstencil storage

 

 

Raelynn says:

“Honestly, I take too much to the retreat. Every year, I try to narrow down the supply piles/bags a little bit so I’m taking just want I need. But it is hard to whittle it down to just the essentials.

However, I don’t leave home without the following items:

  • Tool Kit: My kit bag that holds all my must-have items such as adhesive (tape runners, pop-dots, glue dots, wet adhesives), sanding tools (nail files and soft sanding blocks), basic inks (VersaMark, VersaFine, Archival), Zig Writers (Black, Brown, Navy), centering ruler, cutting tools (HoneyBee Fine-tip/Non-stick scissors, Fiskar FingerTip Knife, full-size scissors), and my Fiskars Hole Punches.

 

  • Ranger Non-stick Craft Sheet: I temporarily stick letters stickers and labels on it, ink and paint on it. I make big messes on it; however, cleanup is super easy because nothing sticks to it.

 

  • Cardstock and Letter Stickers: I take mostly white, black, kraft, and watercolour cardstock (and a very small selection of coloured cardstock). When it comes to your letters stickers/chipboard, if you have limited space go with black and white. Black letters go with everything and you can colour most white letter stickers or chipboard using ink, markers, spray mist, etc. to match your layout.

 

  • Technique Tuesday Clear Stamps: I love my collection of clear stamps from Technique Tuesday (especially the stamps by Ali Edwards). Her stamps are geared toward scrapbooking and are perfect for page titles and sentiments.

 

  • Stuff to add colour to a layouts/embellishments: I don’t leave home without my Distress Inks, spray mists, markers, and a few bottles of paint.

 

  • Embellishment Stash: I own too many embellishments to bring all of them to a crop, so I attempt to pare them down to basic items that I can use on most of my layouts like my stash of buttons, enamel dots, wood veneer, flare buttons, brads, washi tape, journaling cards or tags, twine, some chipboard shapes.

Other must haves:

  • Chocolate: For those late night sugar cravings. (Remember the retreat is peanut-free.)

 

  • Wipes: I don’t mind ink-covered hands and fingers, but I hate it when I accidently transfer the ink to my paper from my dirty hands. (And let’s not lie, we all snack while scrabooking, so they are great for wiping away melted chocolate and sugary finger tips.)

A few tips:

  • Bring a few extra baggies and an extra container or basket with you. After every layout, you will have leftover bits, paper, and stickers that you don`t want to sort at the crop. Toss them in the baggie or container and sort them when you get home (and if you don`t want them, donate them).
  • Remember there are always other ladies who have also brought too much stuff to the crop too. Most people will gladly let you borrow a tool or give you that exact sheet of paper that you need. Just ask your neighbours. And remember, if you borrow a tool, bring it back as soon as you are done, and return the favour if someone needs a perfect embellishment. I guarantee you won`t miss one sheet of pattern paper or cardstock, or a few brads from the stash you bring to a crop.”

 

RLOK_RetreatStash

 

Leave a Comment

