May Card Kit – Wendy’s take

We’re out at The Wilds for our Spring Retreat this weekend, what a wonderful way to celebrate National Scrapbook Day! The shop is still open, so if you’re in the neighbourhood pop by Pippy Place.

Today I’m back with another card kit release. This one is just in time for spring… if we get it! Loved the colours in this one.

I tried to keep these cards super simple for selfish reasons – my days lately have been filled with hockey tournaments, dance recitals and home renos so I needed to pump out some cards that were simple and only included product that came with the kit.  I know that most of us have crazy lives …so hopefully this post makes you realize that making cards doesn’t have to mean a lot of fuss.

image

This first card was actually super quick to make and I could have made a full set of these or tag variations quite easily.  I cut several strips of the gorgeous patterned paper and adhered it on the diagonal onto the blue card stock I turned inside out – the blue makes a lovely surprise inside.  I used my bow die to create a coordinating bow as an embellishment which I painted with the Twinkling H2Os included in this kit.  I love it when there’s a product surprise.  I added my sentiment with the letter stickers and called it done!

image

This card has a little different look for me – I painted the tag that was included with the Twinkling H2Os and let it dry.  I white heat embossed the stamp and punched 5 circles with my circle punch to add as embellishments.  I added some twine from my stash and applied the tag to a kraft card base that I embossed using my Big Shot.

image

I think this one is my favourite from this kit.  I used a white card base (cut horizontally) and then took a slightly smaller piece of patterned paper to create the panel which I edged with red ink (Barn Door distress ink).  I cut 4 flags from some patterned paper strips and adhered.  I then used my Epiphany Tool and layered a sentiment onto some patterned paper and punched my own flair – love that thing! Adhered the panel with foam adhesive (I’m using the scotch foam tape these days – so easy).

image

I used the pink patterned paper as my base for this one. To create the stripes on this card I started with the bold black and white script and cut a wide strip, then layered the striped paper on top and then the floral slightly smaller on top of that.  I used my heart die to cut several hearts out of the ampersand paper, inked the edges with Broken China distress ink and adhered with foam adhesive.  I used my Crop-a-Dile to punch holes to apply the ribbon to the bottom of the card and then rounded the opposite corners for some interest.

image

Apparently I was big on using my dies for this kit .. probably because they were in view!  I sued a polaroid die to cut a frame from the small black and white print paper and then heat embossed in white on the gorgeous vellum to create the inlaid square.  I used the Crop-a-dile to create notches for the twine and then adhered the whole frame with foam squares to the dark pink base.  One thing that doesn’t show up well in my pictures but is a nice touch in real life is that I ‘stitch’ around the edges of the card with a glitter pen for a little sparkle on simple cards.

image

For this card I used the blue card stock as my base and inked through  stencil with Distress Ink in two colours to create some pattern.  I used a strip of patterned paper down the left side and layered that with a neutral pattern that I heat embossed with metallic Zing embossing powder (beautiful shimmer with this stuff).  I added two mini flags with some paper scraps from the kit and then popped the stamped piece off with foam adhesive.  I rounded the opposing corners again on this one as well.

image

I’m pretty sure this one will make it’s way to someone at my children’s school – love how bright and cheery it is.  I used the dark pink as the bad again and the bright floral as my panel.  I added the striped paper (one of my favourites in this collection) to the bottom of the panel. I stamped and fussy cut the image using brown ink from the polka dot paper and coloured the arrow with my dark pink bullet point Wink of Stella pen.  I tied some orange ribbon around a flag I created using the back of some patterned paper and adhered the whole thing with foam adhesive.  I painted the stamped image with Twinkling H2Os and it has such a pretty shimmer in real life.  I added some enamel dots from my stash to finish this one off.

image

I used the kraft as the base for this simple card.  I added a strip to the bottom with a neutral pattern and stapled the ribbon with my Tim Holtz Tiny Attacher.  Next I white heat embossed the pennant stamp onto the vellum and cut each one out to create a ‘love’ banner with the stickers.

image

I enjoyed the look of triangles on the pennant card so I tried another version. I stamped the stamp directly on the kraft card base alternating it’s position across the base to create three rows.  Next I stamped it out 10 times on whatever scraps I had left and fussy cut them out and layered some with foam adhesive, leaving room for ‘hello’ with the stickers.

As I see these cards all together it’s easy to see how card kits are great time savers and cost effective as well. I have 9 completed cards in my stash and tons of paper and supplies left over to create more. Call the store to reserve your kit today – this one’s going to sell out fast!

Stay tuned for Meghan’s take on this month’s card kit next week!

Happy National Scrapbook Day, hope you have a chance to get crafty this weekend!

Wendy

Leave a Comment

