May Scrapbook Kit – Wendy’s take

It’s time for our May Scrapbook Kit Debut! I originally had no intention of playing along with this months page kit but the papers were calling me! And wow this kit is packed with awesome embellishments.

I somehow managed to make 5 layouts over Easter weekend without even trying really – love it when you get in a creative space! Here are my layouts:

image

The only thing on this layout that was not in the kit were the star stamps – new in a Paper Smooches set.  I cut down one of the chevron envelopes and added a tab with the cut off piece to insert my hidden journaling behind the photos. It’s a story about my son’s inspiration for Shave for the Brave – one that is not for public consumption, yet one I always want to remember.

image

I was very tempted to hoard this hexagon paper but when I realized the other hexagon paper would allow me to paper piece I immediately cut into it.  I love simple layouts with details you can appreciate and this meets that for me.  I fussy cut 10 hexagons and adhered them with foam dots randomly around my photo. Love the element sheet that came with the kit – great for layering with the mini alphas.  I added some gold Wink of Stella to the edges of some of the hexagons and added a few enamel dots from my stash.

image

This heart patterned paper is gorgeous but a bit busy for me as a full sheet so I created a panel with the kraft and used the heart paper as a frame. I tapped Heidi Swapp colour shine on the kraft and used a new die set from American Crafts to cut hearts from the patterned paper scraps I had… the top heart is cut from one of the circle label stickers that came with the bags included. I also created my title using the Thickers (love love love woodgrain Thickers!) and the Heidi Swapp puffy ‘Happiness’ sticker the kit. Those thin script stickers are so fun!

image

This photo allowed me to do some layering with the awesome stickers on the element sheet.  I also tapped some gold Mister Huey’s down the page and used my gold Uniball pen to create some journalling lines on top of some hearts I stamped on using Hero Arts gold ink and my patterned brayer. The heart doily and the Love wood veneer (painted with gold Wink of Stella) are from my stash.

image

This was actually the first layout I did – my cute nephew getting ready for kinder start. I used the chevron envelope as a photo mat so my sister can include some memorabilia from that day and I also added journaling lines to the brown strip so that she can write about that day since I wasn’t there. The stars and washi tape are from my stash.

I had such fun with this kit and used a mix of pictures that I had on my desk that I knew I wanted to scrapbook – great sense of accomplishment when using kits. Even thought I got 5 layouts I have tons of paper and embellishments left to make at least 3 more layouts!

I caught a glimpse of some of the projects Krista is working on so stay tuned for those and we’ll have a bonus with Janna’s take on this kit – I’m sure to be inspired to use the rest of mine when I see what these talented ladies come up with!

Wendy

2 thoughts on “May Scrapbook Kit – Wendy’s take

Leave a Comment

