May Card Kit – Meghan’s take

Paperie Card kits are available for $24.99 each. This months kit includes the Studio Calico Printshop 6×6 paper pad, Unity Encircled Thank You Stamps, Twinkling H2O paint pot, 5 sheets of 8.5×11 cardstock, 4 envelopes, White Jillibean Soup Alphabeans, pink Snap Typeset stickers, a tag, ribbon, and twine.

I had so much fun playing with our May kit, once I started I just couldn’t stop! I even made a few extra cards with cardstock from my stash.

Christmas Card

???????????????????????????????

It’s never too early to start making Christmas cards, and when I saw the little woodgrain pennant stamp in this months kit I knew it would make a cute Christmas tree. I stamped with green Brilliance ink and cut out my trees, popping them up with foam tape. I also used some of my own birch bark washi tape to hand-cut the tree trunks (we have some of this wide woodgrain washi tape in stock and I love love love it!).

Welcome Baby

???????????????????????????????

I loved the sweet, soft star patterned papers in the 6×6 Printshop Pad, so I created a hinged card by cutting a 6×6 piece down to 5.5 x 6, scoring at 4.25 and attaching another 4.25 x 5.5 piece of patterned paper to the back. This is a fun way to incorporate the other pattern papers in your pack and still make a standard A2 size card. I did a swipe of Silks paint across the front so my white letter stickers would stand out a little better and added some wood veneer stars from my own stash.

Baby Envelope

???????????????????????????????

I also made a matching envelope with the banner stamp, Pearlescent Beige Brilliance ink, and I coloured the white sticker letters with a Copic Marker to create an ombre effect. I made several matching envelopes with this kit – something I plan to do more often!

// you’re great //

???????????????????????????????

I used the skinny stripe patterned paper and trimmed the panel to 4 x 5.25, keeping the // you’re great // sentiment. I decorated the paper with a few feathers from a Hero Arts stamp set and turquoise VersaMagic ink. I used the same ink on the edges of the panel before mounting on a kraft card base. You probably can’t see it, but there’s also some stardust Stickles glitter glue on the feathers!

Happy Birthday

???????????????????????????????

The card above features one of my favourite things lately. Patterned vellum! I actually love all vellum, funny how things that were popular 8 years ago always come back. I wrapped my vellum around a strip of striped patterned paper, taping it on the back of the strip before adhering that whole piece to my card front. Add a sentiment and you’re done! It looks great with white embossing too.

???????????????????????????????

Hello

???????????????????????????????

I punched a few 1.75″ circles from various patterned papers and stuck them on a white card base, outlining the edges and doodling along the border of the card with my black Pitt pen. The sentiment is handwritten and some ribbon finished off this quick card.

Forever Thanks (stripe)

???????????????????????????????

I created another hinged card with a 5.5 x 6 piece of striped patterned paper and added a strip of the blue star paper on the front. The sentiment is stamped on a scrap of yellow star paper carefully cut out, then popped up on a kraft circle with foam tape. I used brown VersaMagic ink to stamp the focal point and inked all the edges.

Moon and Back

???????????????????????????????

Here is that yellow star paper again, mounted on a blue card base. All of the patterned papers are white on the other side, so I cut out a moon by double-punching with my circle punch. The sentiment was added with the pink Snap tiny type letters and word stickers.

Forever Thanks (scallop)

???????????????????????????????

Another hinged card featuring one of my favourite papers, the colourful scallop. I stamped Forever Thanks on the white side of a pattern paper scrap with turquoise VersaMagic and punched out with a 1.75 inch circle, then mounted on a 2″ pink circle. Some orange sheer ribbon finished off the card.

Love You Floral

???????????????????????????????

I almost forgot about my Twinkling H2O paint! This kit came with a mini pot of LuminArte twinks and I used the pink along with a few other colours from my own stash to paint a couple of flowers on the kraft & white floral patterned paper. I love this paint.

Gracias

???????????????????????????????

I had so much fun painting the last card that I decided to attempt a few freehand flowers. I grabbed a piece of watercolor paper from my stash and my Twinkling H2O paints, and used  a water brush to create these flowers. This was my favourite of the two cards I painted, which reminds me of a Spanish summer dress. I added the Gracias sentiment from a Hero Arts stamp set and even made a matching envelope. To tie in the black in the sentiment, I added a few dots in the center of the flowers.

Vellum Card

???????????????????????????????

This vellum card is impossible to photograph… essentially I folded a piece of 8.5 x 5.5 vellum in half to create an A2 card, then adhere some pink cardstock inside with a circle punched out to reveal the sentiment.

???????????????????????????????

Ampersand You & Me

???????????????????????????????

I created an A2 card with the pink cardstock in the kit to make this quick and easy ampersand card. I have a thing for ampersands, so I grabbed some wood veneer from my stash to create the sentiment with the tiny typeset alphas. Some twine from the card kit finished off this quick card.

Ampersand Masked Card

???????????????????????????????

I couldn’t resist buying the Rhonda Palazarri Ampersand mask and used some orange spray ink to spritz the background on the ampersand paper. Then I used the white side of some pattern paper to mat the patterned panel and mounted on a kraft card base. I dug in to my own stash to make some extra cards since I was on a roll. Some ribbon and a matching envelope finished off this card!

Hey Tag

???????????????????????????????

I liked the way the vellum stood out on the black tag, so I wrapped it around and secured on the back. I used some ‘dot’ stickers from the Jillibean white alphas included in the kit to accent to vellum, then fussy cut some zig zag pattern paper as well as the little chalkboard frames from another piece of patterned paper in the Printshop kit. I added the ‘hey’ sticker letters and some ribbon and it’s done. A cute tag to hang on a guy’s gift.

Bonus card – Merci

???????????????????????????????

This was the first watercolor card I painted using a piece of watercolor paper from my stash with my Twinkling H2O paints. I am definitely hooked on watercolor and plan to share some techniques for painting stamped images in my next few classes.

Hope you’re inspired to pop by and check out our May Card kit!

Meghan

 

3 thoughts on “May Card Kit – Meghan’s take

Leave a Comment

