June 2014 Scrapbook Kit Debut – Cathie’s take

Hi Everyone!

 

It’s Cathie here to share the projects I made with the June kit by The Paperie. I had a lot of fun making pages with this kit. Some many lovely papers – including a few from Amy Tangerine’s Plus One collection that I wanted to hoard – a roll of star washi tape, a pack of cork arrows, a pack of flair and a fabulous sticker element sheet. And there are two packs of letter stickers – Thickers and letter tiles.

 

So, let’s get started!

 

Here’s the very first page I made with the kit.

 

My little guy, Ben, loves green so I had to use this beautiful green paper by Bo Bunny for a page about him.

May 2014 kit_Cathie_Pic 1

I used as many stickers from the element sheet as I could to create a loose grid. Then I added some flair buttons by Queen and Co., some cork arrows and some washi tape. I put some of the label stickers on scrap paper and fed them through my vintage typewriter. This is something you can easily do with a ink jet or laser printer if you don’t have a typewriter.

My next page was all mixed media…

May 2014 Kit_Cathie_Pic 2

I spread some gesso on the white dot paper and when it was dry sprayed some different Mister Hueys through some stencils. I used Bazinga, Splash and Dewey sprays and the 12×12 Blazonry stencil and a couple of my favorite Tim Holtz stencils – Honeycomb and Schoolhouse. I finished off the page with some splashes of Studio Calico Mister Huey Clay.

And now for one of my favorite papers…

May 2014 kit_Cathie_Pic 3

I fussy cut out the stars using my craft knife and self-healing mat. Then I trimmed a ¼” from the paper and mounted it on the Glitter POW paper included in the kit. I added some embellishments, typed journaling and doodling to finish off the page.

And here’s a close-up of the stars. Stop by the shop to see just how glittery that POW paper really is!

 May 2014 kit_Cathie_Pic 4

 We recently said the final good-bye to our much-loved Labrador, Mac. I really miss her but when I found this pic I knew I had to scrap it.

May 2014 kit_Cathie_pic 5

I spread some of the Wendi Vecchi Embossing Paste through my favorite Blazonry stencil and set it aside to dry while I typed my journaling.

May 2014 kit_Cathie_pic 6

I love how scrapbooking helps me work through the difficult times as well as celebrate the good times. It’s a great hobby.

My next page used another of my favorite papers in the kit…

May 2014 kit_Cathie_Pic 7

I fussy cut some of the cameras and popped them up with foam adhesive. I added some Glossy Accents to the lenses for a bit of added interest.

May 2014 kit_Cathie_Pic 8

And here’s my final layout…

May 2014 kit_Cathie_pic 9

I used some of the Wendi Vecchi Embossing Paste and the Wendi Vecchi Paste Translucent Embossing Paste through one of Dina Wakley’s new stencils – Tracks. I combined the two pastes to create a subtle varied background.

Then I misted the whole page with water and sprayed Studio Calico Mister Huey in Honeydew and Dylusions Polished Jade spray ink. I tipped the paper around so the colors would blend then I set it aside to dry. Once dry, I cut down the paper and added my embellishments.

In the end, I made 6 layouts so there isn’t much of the kit left over. I cut into every piece of paper and used up most of the embellishments. With the scraps, I made a gift card envelope using the We R Memory Keepers Envelope Punch Board.

May 2014 kit_Cathie_Pic 10

I put some leftover cardstock and stickers on the inside. It’s all ready for a sentiment and a signature.

May 2014 kit_Cathie_pic 11

And I cut up some other scraps into 3×4 cards to use in my KTOL album or other projects.

May 2014 kit_Cathie_pic 12

And that’s it from me. I hope you all have as much fun as I did with the kit. Please share your pages, I love seeing what you make.

 

Thanks for stopping by!

 

Cathie

7 thoughts on “June 2014 Scrapbook Kit Debut – Cathie’s take

  1. Beautiful layouts (as always☺) Cathie! Love all the different techniques and tidbits you shared about each layout. You rocked this kit! The layouts are even more beautiful in person at the store!

  2. Gorgeous layouts Cathie! And that photo of Mac totally melted my heart.

Leave a Comment

