June Card Kit – Sara’s take

Hi,

It’s Sara here with my take on the June Card kit.  Let me be honest – when Wendy handed me this kit my stomach sank a little. If you have taken any of my classes you’re well aware that flowers are not my thing and this kit has, not only flower paper, but also flower stamps. Then, I started playing with it.

The Kelly Purkey papers work so well together and I even worked in some flower stamping – and liked it!

My first LO used a bunch of paper, layered and sewn just to show them all together:

xoxo

I used several of the wood veneer speech balloons, some archival ink for stamping, and the little sentiments from one of the TWO stamp sets in this months kit. I also added an Epiphany small heart bubble that I coloured with my red Wink of Stella pen – I love how it took the colour and stayed translucent!

2

The next LO is pretty simple:

3

I simply punched a bunch of circles and coloured the rest of the wood speech bubbles with Wink of Stella pens (they go over wood veneer like butter with quick coverage). Then I added details to the alphas, doodled, and journaled with my White Sharpie Paint pen – this pen is a must have if you want white!

4

My third LO used a bunch of papers for layers and the frame stamp with Versamark and clear embossing powder for borders:

5

I love when alpha stickers come with numbers and made full use of them here, adding details with my Faber-Castell Pitt pen:

6

My final LO was a fun one. I spread gesso over a stencil and once it dried I misted with Heidi Swapp ColorShine then sprayed with water to get it to run:

7

I used silver Thickers from my stash for the title and one of the envelopes from the kit for a pocket. I layered paper under the photo and added another piece in the envelope pocket for journaling. Envelopes are great for photo mats, journaling spots, and extra picture space!

8

I actually did make one card this time, using the vellum in the kit:

9

I just layered paper front and back to hide the adhesive and  added alpha stickers and stamping to make the sentiments. Quick and easy!

10

My final project was definitely outside the box which is why I like the Card Kit so much – I never feel like I only have to do layouts!

pig1

How do you like my piggy bank? Isn’t it cute? All it took was some multimedium and dirty fingers!

Now, here’s a challenge – show us what you can do with the card kit! The Mojo Monday Gallery is not just for challenge entries (although you could kill two birds with one stone). Upload your projects and share with our community! Bonus points for thinking outside the box!

Sara

3 thoughts on “June Card Kit – Sara’s take

  1. Great execution of the envelope trick. That is one thing I definitely can’t pull off in digital scrapbooking!

Leave a Comment

