Create-A-Card…Play Along

Evening All,

I love Wendy’s quick and easy die-cut thank you card that she made for today’s edition of Create-A-Card on our blog.

I decided to do my own take on the card this evening.

I recently brought home my own Silhouette Cameo electronic cutting system. Wendy has been after me for awhile to try it out, and here it comes…..wait for it…..”She was right! I love it!”

Although it’s new to me, my mind is quite busy with thinking of all the possibilities this little machine can bring. I have been playing with it over the last couple of days and have already made about a dozen cards, and have begun the design of my son’s birthday party invites. As far as his party is concerned, the possibilities are endless – treat bags, banners, cupcake liners and flags, etc. etc. I have even thought about using the Heat Transfer kit to make him his own t-shirt for his party.

What I like most about this system, is my control over what gets cut. I can pretty much download or create any design I can find or think of, and the Silhouette cuts it for me. Next focus for me will be how to use the sketch pens with my Silhouette.

The Paperie and our staff and designers have already been busy offering classes using the Silhouette. If it’s a system that you are considering, there are tons of videos and ideas online, and our staff would be happy to help answer any questions that you have!

photo 1-1

When I saw Wendy’s card, I decided to find an overlay to cut for the background of my card. I visited the Silhouette Online Store and quickly downloaded the overlay of my choice. There are thousands of download options out there.

Supplies:

photo 2-1

I mounted both the tag/flag and the apple with a dimensional adhesive and voilà! Teacher Appreciation card all ready to go!

photo 3-1

This card was quick and easy to make! After cutting the overlay and mounting it to my card using a glue pen, I stamped a message on a new Simple Stories DIY tag I bought this week. I sprayed a wood veneer apple with my Heidi Swapp Color Shine in Sweet Cherry, and then coloured the leaf of the apple with my green Wink of Stella pen.

photo 4

Whether you are die-cutting with templates like Wendy used today or a Silhouette, we would be happy to help you find a tool that helps make your card making quick and easy 🙂

Janna

Leave a Comment

