Paperie Product Pick – Washi

Hi Everyone!

Anyone who knows me knows that I have a collecting ‘problem’ when it comes to paper crafting.  Specific supplies are at the top of my list – stamps and washi.  I remember once we were unpacking after a retreat and Janna took my personal  washi stash into the store thinking it was product for sale… well no actually it was all mine.  So like many of us I collect this stuff and then get into a rut – sure I use it on layouts and in my Project Life album but sometimes you get stuck doing the same old thing.  So I challenged myself one morning recently to see what I could do with it.  I also took inspiration from Paperie designer Rae Lynn and recalled some of the tips she gave us during a past retreat.  So grab a coffee and take a scroll through these ideas… and then go use some of your stash!

image

Card sets – I layered the washi on some kraft tags I had and then used various dies to die cut shapes out – using the positive and the negative for card fronts.

 

image

More card sets with a cute hot air balloon die…

image

image

I also used washi on my blog scheduling calendar – just a bulletin board painting and then divided with washi.  There are tons of decor ideas on Pinterest as well.

image

I will definitely be using some of my new chalkboard washi over the summer when we entertain – a silver sharpie and your glass is claimed!

image

This idea I love – washi feathers!  Basically it’s wide washi taped to the front and back of wire (I used twine as I didn’t have any wire at the time) and then cut into the shape of a feather and notched all down each side – how cute for an embellishment or gift wrap.

image

Filofax and day planners are all over Pinterest right now – why not make your own cute clips covered with washi from your stash.

image

I also decorated some tags, glassine bags, paper clips and journalling cards for Project Life.

Other Ideas:

  • using washi to label your supplies – I put on the end of my Wink of Stella markers
  • washi tape banner for decor or to embellish a page or a card – super cute!
  • punch shapes from washi – the wide wood washi I punched into circles
  • Create flag embellishments
  • decorate mini clothespins.
  • gift wrap
  • use in on your calendar or agenda to mark off long stretches of activities or when kids are in camp or travel (tip*I designated each of my children a colour and taped out their summer camps so I can at a glance see who is occupied when).

image

I store my washi in these art bin cases that you can purchase from The Paperie – great for keeping it all together and because they are colour coordinated I can easily grab the case I need… and yes I know I have a problem.

image

The Paperie has tons of gorgeous washi tape in stock and we are always adding to that – come visit us to see.  We hope this challenges you to use up some of that washi in your stash.  We’d love to hear about other uses for the wonderful stuff.

Check out our Washi Worship board on Pinterest for some more out-of-the-box ideas!

Wendy

One thought on “Paperie Product Pick – Washi

  1. Wow, Wendy, I love these ideas! By the way, I don’t think you have a problem. I think you’re lucky! 🙂

Leave a Comment

