July scrapbook kit – Wendy’s take

Happy Canada Day everyone! The shop is closed today to observe the holiday, but we couldn’t let this beautiful day go by without the debut of our July Scrapbook kit!

I loved this month’s kit – bright colours; just what I needed since when I was playing summer had yet to arrive. But thankfully summer is here now!

The bold patterns and tons of embellishments made this kit a treat to work with and I used almost all my paper this time – so much fun!

image

The Chevron transparency just begged to be cut up and I used one of the patterned papers to cut out tickets (I created the notches using my crop-a-dile) and make a banner to anchor the page.  I added a sticker and some alphas to the extra large flare and layers some of the other embellishments.

image

For this layout of our puppy I added black Wink of Stella to my letters and again used the tickets as layers.  I added some of the stickers from the element sheet and a flair badge of course!  I also layered the white piece of the chevron transparency and popped the photo off for extra dimension.

image

My kids had so much fun at Kids Expo – not the least of which was making new ‘friends’ with a giant snake named Marshmallow!  I love this houndstooth paper – going to need more of that!  I added layers using the bright washi and the element sheet and also matted my photos to bring some more of the orange in.

image

Oh my silly daughter!  I added 3 layers with paper and then grouped the photos Lily took of herself. I added the camera wood veneer from my stash and coloured them all with black Wink of Stella.  I added a flair and a couple of the arrow stickers to the middle as well. The black thickers were also from my stash.

image

This layout has a lot going on!  I added the pink piece of chevron transparency on top of the patterned paper and then layered stickers and embellishments to the right hand side of my matted photo.  I also added an embossed flag (Ali Edwards stamp) to the mix and few pearls from my stash.  Here’s a close up look at the layers:

image

Hope you enjoy your kit this month! Tons of value in these kits – if you don’t subscribe you should as leftover quantities are extremely limited. Here’s a sneak peek of Lori’s layouts, which we’ll post this time next Tuesday…

Have a great week!

Wendy

 

Leave a Comment

