July Card Kit – Meghan’s Take

So many goodies in this month’s Card Kit!

image

How cute is that little heart punch? And I loved the Wanderlust paper pad. And those Jillibean sentiment stamps for almost every occasion! I can’t wait to share the things I made, so let’s get right to it!

July Card Kit Meghan (1)

First up we have the card I gave my mom for her birthday on July 8th. This was the first time in ten years that I’ve ever stamped a greeting on the envelope and I love how finished it looks. I usually just write the recipients name, but I’m trying to make a habit of making a matching envelope so the sentiment on the outside really ties it all together. In this case I fussy cut the flowers on both the card and envelope from a piece of the patterned paper in the Wanderlust paper pad.

July Card Kit Meghan (2)

The panel on the card is actually a piece of watercolor paper that I embossed with an Lifestyle Crafts embossing folder with the intention of creating a cool watercolour card. But I loved the texture on the plain panel so much I adhered it to my card base with a strip of twine, and popped up the fussy cut flowers for dimension.

July Card Kit Meghan (3)

Next we have another card that I gave away to one of my dear friends who I met through The Paperie! Randene is a wedding planner who owns Rubber Boot Brides and she and her husband celebrated their 5 year wedding anniversary on Friday last week. I already had this card made and thought it would be perfect for a celebration of love. I used my black Wink of Stella bullet pen to colour a few hearts to match the twine in an attempt to make it a bit less girly.

I originally thought I might give the Xoxo card above to another friend to let her know I care… but… I guess I’ll need to make another one to go with this envelope…

???????????????????????????????

Luckily I still have a piece of the heart patterned paper so the card will match the envelope I had already made. I used the heart punch on quite a few of my envelopes as a cute little finish…

???????????????????????????????

I just punched a pink heart, then punched through the envelope flap and stuck the heart through the hole with mono glue so you can see a peek-a-boo of pink – another easy handmade touch on a coordinating envelope.

More fussy cutting on this pretty feminine card with some grey hearts punched from a patterned paper. The sentiment was stamped first in the Persimmon ink that came with the kit but it needed a little pow so I stamped over it again with black, offset to give it a glow. I used two separate pieces of cardstock to create this “hinged card” as I call them. It’s a technique I always use to get the most out of my kits, as seen in the next card below.

card-kit-july-meghan01-e1405620121240

Oh the confetti! I love love love this patterned paper and didn’t really want to do a single thing to cover it up, so I attached it on the back to another piece of 6×6 patterned paper that I cut down to 4.25 x 5.5. Some sequins and a ‘Happy Birthday’ sentiment are the only things needed to finish this one off.

???????????????????????????????

My latest favourite embossing folder makes another appearance on this cheerful orange and white card. A bit of twine and a matching persimmon sentiment completed this quick and easy card.

???????????????????????????????

Love that texture!

card-kit-july-meghan16

I’m a habitual fussy-cutter. Some people don’t enjoy it, but I love taking images from patterned paper (or stamped) and cutting them out by hand.  The grey patterned paper was quite bold and loud, so I cut out pieces that I wanted and mounted on a white panel.

HOT TIP: Sometimes the kits have 6×6 patterned paper that are white on the other side. I make the most out of my kits by taking my least favourite patterns and using the white side. This really maximizes your kit, and cuts down on the amount of white cardstock you use. I save them all and cut them into panels to use on future cards too.

I rarely use the numbers in a set of alphabet stickers, but honestly… what a great way to personalize a card! I made this loud neon card which literally screams “40?!” for one of my guy friends who doesn’t look a day over 25. I think he’ll appreciate the humour in this one. This is another hinged card using the neon chevron paper in the kit, cut to 5.5 x 6 and scored at 4.25 with another piece of patterned paper attached on the back.

Don’t laugh at me, but I stuck my stencil right onto a white card base and made a card with it. It was pretty sticky so if you want to actually use your stencil like Wendy & Tanya did, they recommend patting it on clothes first or use the EK Success powder tool to deactivate the stickiness. I love the movie Say Anything so I wrote in my own sentiment and made a matching envelope decorated with a cassette tape die from My Favourite Things.

My next card was based on another movie I love by Wes Anderson called Moonrise Kingdom. That was the first thing I thought of when I looked at this patterned paper, it just reminded me of the movie so I went with it. My friend Peggy celebrated her birthday on the 16th so she’ll appreciate this offbeat card which says Happy Birthday on the inside.

card-kit-july-meghan17

I am at a rare stage in my life where I don’t know anyone having babies… but when it starts up again I’ll be ready for them as I seem to make at least one baby card with every kit. I used the gingham patterned paper in the kit with a strip of the canoe patterned paper and added the sentiment with the Sn@p alphas.

Gingham makes another appearance on this card… but where is it? You probably spotted it there on the inside. I love how the patterned paper is cream or white on the inside, making it a fun surprise when you reverse the card with a pattern inside.

card-kit-july-meghan18-e1405620183897

Customized my sentiment again with the Sn@p letters combined with a stamp. There is a little heart punched on the cover of the card which I ended up covering with a strip of patterned paper, but it’s another cute surprise on the inside of the card.

???????????????????????????????

Quick and easy card made with the ‘reclaimed wood’ patterned paper mounted on pink cardstock. I might go back and outline the letters in hello.

congrats card

I needed a congratulations card for a teenage boy, and I was running out of steam a little so this is probably the simplest card I made from the bunch. Love that speech balloon stamp which works with quite a few sentiments in the set. If you haven’t already seen them, be sure to check out Wendy & Tanya’s cards featuring the July kit:

https://thepaperie.wordpress.com/2014/07/11/july-card-kit-tanyas-take/

https://thepaperie.wordpress.com/2014/07/04/july-card-kit-wendys-take/

We each used a whole card kit to create the projects we’ve shared, and we have a few kits left from this month (as well as a few from previous months!).

Have a great weekend everyone!

Meghan

Leave a Comment

