August Card Kit – Wendy & Jeannette’s take

Hi Everyone!

For this month’s card kit I cheated a little; Jeannette and I were having some crafty time together so I gave her 1/2 the card kit and she came up with some of the projects – Thanks Jeannette!

First up, here are my projects:

image

Very simple card using paper included in kit and some of my dies – don’t you love the Penny Black word dies? We have more on the way to the store so let us know if you want any.  I added some sequins with my Tombow liquid glue.

image

For this card I used a heart die to cut out hearts from the front of the card base so when closed you see the white through.  I also used the included washi as an embellishment and the letters to spell out my sentiment.

image

Another very simple one – I used my Martha Stewart Score board to deboss some lines on the diagonal in the corner and then stamped the sentiment  and side flourishes in Hero Arts die ink (new colours!) ocean & blue.  This card was one of the last I made and I took all of the little scraps left and punched out circles using various size circle punches (a staple tool in my stash).  I popped some off with foam adhesive for dimension.

image

Since I had my Bigshot out I used my new Little B star dies to cut (and perforate) some stars on a piece of the patterned paper which I then inked with unicorn white ink, heat embossed the sentiment and adhered to a blue card base. Little B dies are a new line for us; I have purchased several sets and they are great quality and come in their own magnetic storage folder! We can also get the empty magnetic storage folders.

image

I was so happy that this kit was masculine because I was running short on boy cards – this one is perfect for one of my son’s friends.  I layered pieces of the Authentique patterned paper and inked the edges with Unicorn Hero Arts ink and adhered to blue card stock base.  I embellished with the washi and cut out a ticket that I stamped on some patterned paper and layered with the sentiment popped off with foam adhesive.

image

For this one I used the cut out stars from an earlier card and added them with foam adhesive to a panel I created with various strips of the patterned paper.  I added a sentiment with the alpha stickers.

image

This one is my favourite – but I love banners so that’s probably why.  I added these banners to a piece of patterned paper with foam adhesive, used the paperclip as an embellishment and the letter stickers again for my sentiment. I used my Score board to add some embossed lines to the card base.  I just recently purchased the card size score board by Martha Stewart after convincing myself for months that I didn’t need it because I have a Scor-pal. It’s such a nice size to have out on your desk for card making and it’s also super portable if you’re crafting on the go – love it!

image

The last card here was literally made using scraps and tearing them up and stamping and hand cutting the sentiment out – so simple but it allowed me to use up some of the odd shaped scraps I had left.

Here are Jeannette’s projects she created with the pieces of the kit I gave her:

image

Jeannette used the canvas of course!
Supplies from her stash:

  • Liquitex gloss medium
  • Primary Elements Deep Coblat
  • Embossing Powder from kit
  • embossing medium

Instructions:
Pour small amount of gloss medium on canvas to just before the edges.  sprinkle 1/16 of a teaspoon on top of gloss medium.

Let dry for 24 hours

Spread embossing medium around visible white edges of canvas.  Sprinkle Teal embossing powder on top.  Use heat gun to emboss. This can get messy!

Jenny Bowlin frame was painted in a teal to match the embossing powder from the kit.

The Easel Jeannette used for the canvas  is from the Lori Whitlock Collection on the Silhouette Online store. She used silhouette chipboard and painted it with Colorbox Fluid chalk refill and a soft paintbrush.  Use care when folding the easel. If you fold one in the opposite direction of the other the easel will not fit together.  You can reference this Lori Whitlock YouTube video.

image

The Project Life layout below is a great example of how you can use the card kits in your pocket pages – I do it all the time!  In fact with almost every kit with the bits that are left over I make up my own journaling and pocket cards – then they already coordinate and a week’s layout can come together quickly. “At the Car Wash” :

image

Sxtras outside the kit:

  • Stickers: Echo Park “Dots and Stripes”
  • Studio Calico Alpha Stickers in Grey
  • Studio Calico Alpha translucent Alpha Stickers in turquoise and grey
  • Fancy Pants What a Wonderful Day Sticker Fundamentals

Jeannette also made this tag as a July Calendar:

image

And this little ticket holder:

image

Thanks for playing along Jeannette!

Stay tuned for Tina’s take on this kit – she knocked it out of the park again! If you’re interested in getting our kits just drop us a line or call the store 726-5323 and we can set one aside for you. I have to say that kits are the perfect way to create a bunch of cards in one sitting.

Thanks for checking in!

Wendy

Leave a Comment

