August Scrapbook Kit – Rae Lynn’s Take

Design Team Post: Rae Lynn

Hi everyone,

I hope you are enjoying your summer! It certainly has been warmer than usual. As I write this, it is 11:10 p.m. at night and my thermometer is telling me that it is feels like 30 degrees! That snow storm on April 1st seems like a hundred years ago. (I’m not wishing for snow – not at all – but I’m certainly grateful for air conditioning!)

The August Scrapbook Kit is full of bright summer colour from the Simple Stories Good Day Sunshine collection and the Carta Bella Summer Lovin’ element stickers! When I saw this kit I loved everything it. It is choked full of great embellishments too. I created 7 layouts with the kits and still had tons of paper and product left over.

My favourite sheet of paper in this kit was the Life if Beachy pattern paper. Each block basically is like a colourful, little postage stamp. As soon as I saw this paper I knew I’d cut out bits and pieces.

SS_LifeIsBeachy

Layout 1: Badness x Two

RLOK_L1_BadnessXTwo_1

RLOK_L1_BadnessXTwo_2

For my first layout, I tapped some Mister Huey’s Calico White mist on the top half of the page. I love this white mist as it dries pretty fast. No matter the brand, I find white mists tend to take longer to dry. So when you are tempted to check if it is dry, resist the temptation and wait a bit longer. You’ll end up with less smudges – I promise.

I adhered the geometric red and turquoise paper with some red washi tape from my stash. I added some quick embellishments and then journaled around the bottom perimeter of the page with a white paint pen. More about white pens later!

Layout 2: Let’s Get Summer Started

RLOK_L2_SummerStarted_1

RLOK_L2_SummerStarted_2

RLOK_L2_SummerStarted_3

WinkofStella

I love white cardstock! Honestly, I could only scrapbook on white, kraft, and black cardstock if I was forced to do so. This kit includes a textured double dot white cardstock, which is just enough texture to “take the boring away”.

To start, I broke out my trusty ZIG Wink of Stella Brush Pens. I used the pink, green, and black pens to create a very fine splatter of colour in the upper-left and lower-right corners of the pages. I simply squeezed each pen to load ink in the pen’s chamber and then used my fingernail to flick the brush tip to create a fine splatter on the paper. Messy, glittery goodness! (And these pens come in 16 colours.)

I adhered five thin strips of washi tape to the page. I can’t remember the brand name on these thin tapes but I purchased them at the Paperie Retreat in May. I used some black alpha stickers from my stash along with the SUMMER sticker from the element sheet to create my title. Then I had fun adding some embellishments from the kit – DoodleBug Sprinkles (enamel dots), BoBunny brads, and Simple Stories DIY Boutique chipboard stickers. 

Layout 3: Good Friends & Fun Times

RLOK_L3_GoodFriends_1

RLOK_L3_GoodFriends_2

RLOK_L3_GoodFriends_3

RLOK_L3_GoodFriends_4

RLOK_L3_GoodFriends_5

RLOK_L3_GoodFriends_6

Okay – how can you not covet this pattern paper with the words Hello all over it! I didn’t want to do much to cover it up, so I sprayed about 8 good spritzes of Mister Huey’s Custard mist, which is great yellowish-pale orange colour.

I then flicked some big droplets royal blue watercolour paint on the paper. The watercolour paint dried to a very chalky finish, which I really liked.

I anchored the page using a few strips of yellow washi tape and some striped red paper (cut from the pattern paper with all the diagonal strips in the kit). My photo is matted on one of the 4×6 Simple Stories Journaling Cards also included in the kit.

To journal, I used a blue Frixon pen, which is erasable. Yip – erasable! I love to journal but I also make mistakes as I write. The Frixon pens has a rubber eraser at the tip of the pen, which makes quick work of your mistakes and your page is not ruined. These pens come in a variety of colours with either fine or medium tips. The black and blue pens are now part of my basic scrapbook kit.

To finish off the page, I used a few of the “postage stamp” pieces, some enamel dots, and wood veneer shapes coloured with Wink of Stella pens.

Layout 4: Me & You

RLOK_L4_YouMe_1

RLOK_L4_YouMe_2.jpg

RLOK_L4_YouMe_3

RLOK_L4_YouMe_4

 

I started this layout using a stencil that I cut with my Silhouette Cameo and some Liquitex Light Modeling Paste. The stencil was actually left over from another project I did earlier this year and it just cut from white cardstock. (One of the advantages of the Silhouette is that you can create your own stencils will almost any shape opening.)

After the moulding paste dried, I coloured a few hearts in with my light green Wink of Stella pen. Seriously, these pens cover surfaces beautifully!

This layout pulled together quickly with some of the polka dot vellum, a strip of green pattern paper, the B&W stickers from the element sheet, and finally, the gorgeous glitter green alphas! 

Layout 5: Hi Ali

RLOK_L5_Ali_1

RLOK_L5_Ali_2

RLOK_L5_Ali_3

RLOK_L5_Ali_4

For this simple layout, I used Distress Paint (Antique Bronze and Evergreen Bough) and lots of water to create long drops down the map paper.

The Antique Bronze Distress Paint leaves a gorgeous metallic sheen. You can get the metallic distress paint in three colours: Brushed Pewter, Tarnished Brass, and Antique Bronze.

I adhered a few strips of washi tape (from my stash) vertically down the page. I cut out a few postage stamp pieces and added them to the left of the photo. To the right, I cut a heart from another postage stamp and punched a few smaller hearts. The cloud brad is from the BoBunny Brads included in the kit.

Layout 6: Summer Vacation Planning / Mexico

RLOK_L6_Mexico_1

RLOK_L6_Mexico_2

RLOK_L6_Mexico_3

This simple grid layout has four 3×4 pics and a journaling block to document a vacation planning weekend I had with a few of my favourite ladies.

I used a bunch of stickers from the element sheet, some October Afternoon alphas from my stash, and the glitter stickers to spell out Mexico for the title. I am patiently counting down the days to this trip and can’t wait to scrapbook the memories and fun that is sure to ensue in a few weeks’ time. Mexico may never be the same after we arrive. 

Layout 7: Happy Lovin’ U

RLOK_L7_LovinU_1

RLOK_L7_LovinU_2

RLOK_L7_LovinU_3

RLOK_L7_LovinU_4

RLOK_L7_LovinU_5

 

For this layout, I chopped and punched out bits and pieces from the sticker element sheet to make my page embellishments. The arrow is cut from the roof of the house sticker, the red banner at the top of the page is cut from that same house sticker. The Lovin’ sticker is cut from the bar code strip and the letter U is from the word “fun” in the Family Fun sticker.

I wanted a few more mini hearts, so I punched them from the bathing suit sticker. Never limit yourself to the defined shape of a sticker…most can be used to make other shapes. (The heart punch is available in the store – it is compact, making it a perfect tool addition to your basic scrapbook kit.)

I tried something “new to me” with the messy thread under the stickers. I’ve seen this in layouts and wanted to try it. It turned out okay but I think it would be “neater” if I used a thinner thread.

I added a journaling with a White Signo BallPoint Pen. In my opinion, this is the best white pen on the market. But I also like the Sharpie White Paint Pen, which is great for writing on slick surfaces like your photos and chipboard.

So to clue up here, you can see that I love my pens – from the colourful/glittery Wink of Stella Brush Pens, the erasable Frixon pens, and finally to the white Signo Ballpoint Pen and Sharpie White Paint Pen.

The Paperie has a selection of all the pens, mists, distress paint, and punches that I’ve mentioned in this blog. If the item is not in stock when you pop by, they will gladly order it for you! Keep that in mind for any special orders – a wide range of products is right at your fingertips, it never hurts to ask.

If you have any questions, don’t hesitate to ask myself or one of the other Paperie ladies! Enjoy summer and stay cool!

Rae Lynn

5 thoughts on “August Scrapbook Kit – Rae Lynn’s Take

Leave a Comment

