September Card Kit – Meshell’s Take

Hi Everyone!
For September’s card kit we asked our very own Meshell Wight to help us out and design with the kit – and boy did she knock it out of the park!  Here are her projects and comments.
image
image
image
1. Birthday card – I used the envelope wrap and stamped birthday Greeting on card then went through the scraps from the envelope wraps for the party hats and embellished using Distress Stickles – Clear Rock Candy.  Corresponding envelope with envelope wrap. (which I of course put on upside down).  The envelope wraps are self adhesive which makes these quick cards to make.

image

2. Congrats Card – Distressed the edged of the crossword paper with my scissors and adhered with double sided tape. The banners I stamped first using my red StaZ on ink on to plain cardstock. Then I cut the banners into different shapes and rolled the banner around the tooth picks with my Studio muli-medium matte.  This is my favourite adhesive/glue for anything especially adhering fussy cut pieces.  Quick dry and strong!  The smaller bottle I like for fussy cutting and the crock to dip my fingers in for larger projects. Adhered the DIY star fabric stickers.

image

 
3.  Special Delivery – used my border punch to punch down the side of the card.  Took one of my my scrap pieces and put it along the inside edge of the card so that it peeked through when the card is closed.  .. Used another self adhesive envelope wrap and adhered to front. Took my Memento Rich Coca and colored the sides of the DIY heart embellishment.  I then took my Distress Stickles – Clear Rock Candy and outline the edges of the fabric heart.

image

image

4.  Gift card holder.  Used the envelope wraps for the front and inside of the gift card holder.  Used Distress Stickles – Clear Rock Candy again for the burlap arrow on the front, Used my border punch to create a fancy edging to hold the card.  The envelope wraps come with a corresponding wrap which is used on the inside so that a personalized note can be made.  Used a heart punch and outline with a black marker.

image 

5.  Sympathy card. Used my heart punch and butterfly punch and lots of Studio muli-medium matte.  Taking the punch hearts fold them in half with  the pattern side out.  I use a glue dot at the bottom of the flower to get them to come together and then once they are placed use Studio muli-medium matte and big squirt gives a bit of dimension so the flower is not lying flat.  The green on the bottom of the flowers and the grass is made from flower punches. Stems are cut into narrow strips from the patterned paper,and of course a little smidgey of Distress Stickles – Clear Rock Candy on the butterflies.  Rock Candy Distress Stickles I love – it is my go to for some subtle glitz and dimension and the bonus with stickles is it’s a glue so you can put it on almost anything and does not change the color of what you are using it on.

image

6.  Birthday Layout – This layout is a fav of mine. The colors and embellisments and title all flow together.  My brother Colin has a birthday in September and it is on the 24 – this  paper was made for him!.  My picture edges are distressed with my scissors. As an alternative I sometimes sand my picture edges or rip them gives a different distressed look.  I also distressed the edges of the color block behind the photos with scissors. I fussy cut the September and adhered with  Studio multi-medium matte and placed the burlap arrow under the 24. The arrow is colored on the sides with Memonto rich cocoa.  Next I used the hexagon punch to punch various pieces of patterned paper.  The white Sharpie added a little dimension to the title blocks as well as under the heart embellishment.  And again you guessed it Distress Stickles – Clear Rock Candy on the heart embellishment that was stamped with Staz-on.  The other DIY burlap embellisments were outlined on the edges with memento ink rich cocoa,

 image
image
7.  Christmas Photo holder –  Used the envelope wrap along with the red and white twine to decorate the burlap stars.  Notice my french knots – yes embroidery skills do come back after being gone for a million years! And hold on is that Distress Stickles – Clear Rock Candy on a star? Yep – the particular brand and color is my go to for a subtle glow on anything.  The sentiment is stamped with jet black Staz-on and then heat embossed with clear embossing powder.  The card inside has a picture mounted on one side of the cardstock with a sentiment on the back and enough room to personalize your christmas photo card.
image
8.  Hello card – Punched butterflies from the envelope wrap and punched flowers from the cardstock. The flower stems and bottom grass are cut from the envelope wraps.  The flowers and the butterflies are adhered with glue dots as well. The center of the flowers and butterflies are embellished with Distress Stickles – Clear Rock Candy.
Love Love these projects Meshell!  Thanks so much for designing for us this month!
If you are interested in our monthly card kits just give us a call – 726-5323.
Wendy Signature

Leave a Comment

