Inspired By – Sept. 25th

Hi Everyone!

This week I’m inspired by 2 things –  this  layout I found on Pinterest:

image

and our very own Paperie Instructor/designer Cathie Reed.  Cathie is so innovative with the way she uses regular everyday products (think a whole pack of wood veneer or Thickers on a page!).  While Cathie has a very different style than mine, we like some of the same elements (gold doilies for example) but that’s the beauty of a design team – tons of talent and different, unique approaches to pull inspiration from.  In August Cathie taught a mixed media class and featured watercolors – lovely medium to work with – and she was kind enough to leave me a treat of a 12×12 background.  That background was the other inspiration for my layout below.

image

I love the drips of colour Cathie created and it made recreating the layered look of the Pinterest layout easy.  I know Cathie will appreciate the gold accents here and there. I used some patterned paper from my scrap bin and also added a wood veneer frame and some enamel dots.  I stamped an Ali Edwards Technique Tuesday sentiment as my title and did a bit of journaling. Here’s a close-up:

image

If you’re interested in learning more about Cathie check out her blog.  She also teaches a variety of classes here at The Paperie – Mixed Media layouts and Art Journal Club to name a few. We have also asked Cathie to try her hand at some of the new Prima products and she has agreed, so look for tweets about those and join us at the Retreat where she will be showcasing some of the goodies!

Thanks to Cathie and all our design team members for your ongoing inspiration!

Wendy Signature

One thought on “Inspired By – Sept. 25th

  1. Thanks for all the kind words, Wendy. You are too kind. I love what you did with this background. I never would have thought to put triangles and watercolor together – great inspiration post.

Leave a Comment

