October Page Kit – Cathie’s take

Hi Friends!

It’s Cathie here to share with you the pages and projects I made with this month’s kit from The Paperie. The October kit is full of fun and trendy supplies like Studio Calico wood veneer hearts (swoon), letter stickers and gold Thickers (yay!) and gold patterned vellum (double swoon). I’m excited to show you what I’ve made so let’s get started.

This was the first page I made with the kit.

Cathie Oct 2014_PIC 1

To make this page, I used some gold Liquitex Acrylic Ink and my brayer to create a gold background for my photos. Then I opened the whole box if Studio Calico wood veneer hearts and dumped them on my page. I fiddled with the placement until I was happy. Then I phoned my sister and glued down each and every heart while we were chatting. It was time consuming but totally worth it.  Here’s a closeup.

Cathie Oct 2014_PIC 2

For my next page, I used 2 full sheets of patterned paper to make this page.

Cathie Oct 2014_PIC 3

The flowers are from the Gardens paper from My Mind’s Eye (MME) Market Street collection Ashbury Heights (add link http://mymindseye.typepad.com/.a/6a01053647c676970c01a3fce3aebf970b-popup). It’s the perfect paper to go with some of the pictures from my summer vacation in France specifically our visit to the palace of Versailles. The palace is full of floral motifs so I fussy-cut the flowers and arranged them around my photos.

Cathie Oct 2014_PIC 4

I also sprinkled in some of the chipboard buttons from the kit and broke open the gold Thickers. Gold is such a popular trend right now and I can’t get enough of it.

For my next page, I finally cut into the vellum with the gold pattern. I love this vellum from Studio Calico. I would love to have more it but I would probably hoard it.

Cathie Oct 2014_PIC 5

I also broke open the October Afternoon Tidbits from the Public Library collection and grabbed some more MME chipboard pieces and layered them around my photos.

Cathie Oct 2014_PIC 6

Then I added a few chipboard banner pieces to the bottom of my photos to keep your eye moving around the page. (Isn’t that gold flag amazing? I would love a whole pack of those!)

Cathie Oct 2014_PIC 7

Finally, I added some gold confetti stars from my stash and punched some aqua circles using a confetti punch, scattered them around and glued them down.

Cathie Oct 2014_PIC 8

My next page features a sheet of paper made of wood. I wasn’t sure how to use it – I had so many ideas. Then, I saw a tutorial on how to whitewash a piece of furniture and I knew what to do with the sheet.

Cathie Oct 2014_PIC 9

To make my whitewash, I watered down some gesso (you could use acrylic paint) and painted it on with a brush. I let it sit for a minute and then wiped it away with a cloth. I left it to dry overnight.  I didn’t stop there though and added 2 coats of Viva Décor Crackle Paint that I have in my stash. I let that dry overnight between coats and wow!

Cathie Oct 2014_PIC 10

The crackle paint caused the paper to warp a bit so I added heavy watercolor paper to back before adding the second coat. When it all the crackle was dry, I added a topcoat of soft gel medium so the crackle didn’t lift from the page.

And finally, the page that took forever to come together.

Cathie Oct 2014_PIC 11

I struggled to make this page work. Part of the problem is that I absolutely love both sides and I couldn’t decide which one to use. When I finally settled on the moustache side, I had a mixed media accident with some spray. I almost threw out the paper but decided to see if I could save it and I’m so glad I did. Here’s a close-up of some of the modeling paste texture.

Cathie Oct 2014_PIC 12

 And here are some of the details:

Cathie Oct 2014_PIC 13

The cork stars and enamel dots are from my stash. That’s one of things I love about kits, they help me to use up supplies that are hanging around in my stash.

I also made some Christmas cards with a piece of gorgeous red cardstock in the kit. I think it’s the perfect Christmas red.

Cathie October 2014_PIC 14

I made the stars using Wendi Vecchi Embossing Paste through a stencil. While the embossing paste was still wet, I covered it in Platinum Distress Glitter. The glitter sticks to the paste and when it dries you end up with puffy, glittery stars.

And finally, I took the sheets of green and yellow cardstock and some scraps and cut some flowers and stems using my Silhouette. To make this…

Cathie October 2014_PIC 15

The burlap canvas was in my stash. I gave it a gesso whitewash and let it dry. Then I stamped some background stamps in Archival Ink and put some Liquitex Glass Bead gel through the 6×6 Blazonry stencil. When the gel was dry, I spritzed it with some of the new Prima Color Bloom spray – Tea Stain. Here’s a close up.

Cathie October 2014_PIC 16

The Prima Color Bloom sprays are delightful. They have a little shimmer and a fixative so they work really well on paper, metal and glass! The line has 22 gorgeous colors. The Paperie has some on the way so call the store to reserve yours.

And that’s it for another kit. I think it’s safe to say I “killed” this kit. There isn’t much of anything left besides the letter stickers, the gold Thickers and a sheet of cardstock.  I hope you feel inspired to take some creative time for yourself, open a kit and start scrapping.

For more information about the October kit or their kit club, call The Paperie 726-5323.

Thanks,
Cathie

Leave a Comment

