October Card Kit – Wendy’s Take – Oct. 4th

Hi Everyone;

I’m back with another card kit post – this month’s kit had a lot of vintage floral and I loved it! Kits make me think outside the box and I’m always guaranteed to have a great selection of cards in my stash.

image

A card kit post from me wouldn’t be complete without a few banners.  For this card  I cut some banners from the patterned paper and adhered them together by slightly overlapping them.  Then I tied knots in the ends of a piece of the twine and adhered the knots to the kraft card base with some glossy accents. I stuck the banner down (overlapping it a bit with the banner in places) using my regular tape adhesive.  I stamped the sentiment using Memento Tuxedo Black in and added a few of the buttons with the Glossy Accents.

image

For this card I cut 4 strips of patterned paper the same width (turned one over to use the back to stamp the sentiment) and adhered them to the ivory card base leaving a little gap in the middle where I used my crop-a-dile hole punch to thread some twine through.  I inked the edges of the white piece and stamped the sentiment with distress ink – Vintage Photo. I also rounded the opposite corners.

image

More banners of course.  I cut a panel from patterned paper and adhered the burgundy card base.  Next I cut 3 banners from some patterned paper strips and stapled them together at the top and tied some of the green twine around the top and adhered to the card base.  I added 3 yellow buttons with Glossy Accents and stamped the sentiment using Memento Rich Cocoa ink.

image

For this card I kept it super simple as I felt the floral patterned panel was enough.  I edged the panel with Vintage Photo Distress ink to soften the colours slightly.  Then I die cut a banner and stamped the sentiment in Memento Tuxedo Black ink.

image

image

The wood veneer paper in this kit is gorgeous and I knew I wanted to feature it on a card so I used one of my background dies and cut a panel from it and adhered it to the woodgrain paper.  I then coloured the bird (and wing) die cut included with my Wink of Stella Gold Brush pen and adhered it to the panel.  I finished by adding the ‘hi’ using the alpha stickers included.

image

image

I had some strips of the wood veneer paper left over so I die cut a few trees and added them to another woodgrain card base. I cut a panel from white card stock and added the sentiment in Memento Rich Cocoa ink.

image

For this card I pulled a few supplies from my stash. The butterfly image is from Dina Wakely’s new stamp set (Scribbly Insects) and I embossed that with Ranger Gold embossing powder.  I used the yellow card base and put the hello on the inside.  I took the patterned paper and distressed it with Vintage Photo Distress Ink.  I heat embossed the butterfly and stamped the sentiment.  I adhered the panel to the top of the card base and then used a piece of Little B gold toile washi tape and then a leftover strip of the wood veneer at the bottom – I think I used every last piece of that paper.

Well that’s it for my take on October’s card kit – stay tuned for Tina’s take – as usual she has some gorgeous projects. Card kits are available for $24.99 and you won’t want to miss out.  They are a great way to stock up on cards and tags and a great take a long to crops or to give as a gift to a crafty friend.

Hope you can take some time for yourself this week.

Wendy

 

Leave a Comment

