Kids Christmas Card Kit – Molly & Gabe’s take

It’s Sara here.

Whenever I get a kit from The Paperie as part of the Design Team I get excited. Excited for the advance peek, for the fun product, and for the challenge of creating as much as possible with just what I’m given. It’s so much fun! But I don’t think I’ve ever been as excited as my kiddos were when I told them that they were going to be Paperie Designers for a month!

This year, The Paperie decided to put together a Kid’s Christmas Card kit and it’s fabulous! Between Molly, Gabe, and myself we made 18 projects and still have tons of product left over – this one is definitely a good one to buy for yourself, your child, or as a special gift, trust me! Today you’re lucky enough to see what my children have done and later, you’ll see another post with my projects – there was too much for one blog post!

Molly is in school all day (she’s 7) so she had a little less time to work on this but she did knock out two cards. The first one is her usual style – half an 8.5×11 sheet of cardstock, unfolded. She likes them big!

1

Don’t you love her penguin in a red snowsuit? I had to steal that idea – I thought it was genius! She also had fun with my label punch and all the sentiment stamps.

The second card she said she just had to make was after seeing me do a similar one. Aside from cutting the rectangle from the centre, she did everything else herself, including tell me where and how big to make that rectangle!

2

And she made a little surprise for the inside as well:

3

Gabe is 5 and in kindergarten so he had a bit more time to play and, truth be told, he’s the one who always wants to craft with mama anyway. His first one is a cool penguin in a coloured snowsuit (he liked Molly’s idea too):

4

And you can see that he also got in one the punching action with some Martha Stewart and EK Success punches.

He then caught sight of my Wink of Stella pens and they were the only things he would use after. On this card he also used some Stampendous Pearlized Mica Fragments for the snow bank – they’re awesome! I’m starting to think he’s a fan of shimmer and shine!

5

Next, he was determined to use one of the tree clips in the kit so he came up with this idea:

6

I found it interesting that after stapling on the tree and colouring the penguin he asked me what he could do so they weren’t floating! It was a proud moment – I love that he noticed a thing that a lot of us as adults sometimes tend to overlook!

By this point we had long ago run out of plain cardstock so Gabe decided to fold one of the 6×6 sheets of paper in half and stamp on the patterned side – luckily for him, the Wink of Stella brush pens were up to the challenge!

7

He also finally discovered the sequins in the kit and had a great time picking out colours.

Finally, after I thought we were all done, we went to The Paperie and he decided to make one more card (this may have been motivated by the fact that I bought 4 new Wink of Stella colours!). This is a hinged card using two sheets of patterned paper but he left the white on the outside this time so there is “such a great surprise” when you open it up.

8

He was also very proud of himself for colouring the sentiments in different colours. I love the neon look of it myself.

As you can see, the stamp set included in the kit was a huge hit with my kids and you’ll see from my projects later that I loved it too – it was awesome for paper piecing!

Thanks Sara, Molly & Gabe – great design work!  If you are interested in picking up the Kids Christmas Card kit for yourself or someone special for Christmas we have limited supplies so call to hold your kit now – 726-5323.

Wendy Signature

 

Leave a Comment

