Daily December Deals & Tags of Christmas kick-off

We had so much fun last year with our Daily December Deals and Tags of Christmas (inspired by Tim Holtz)… so let’s do it all over again! Be sure to subscribe to our blog, twitter, or Facebook feed to hear all the great specials. These deals are only emailed if you are subscribed to our blog, so social media is the best way to stay on top of the daily deals!

Announcing our first December Deal…

20% off all Christmas Stamps!

Most of our Deals will be one-day only, but this particular discount goes right until December 23rd. We have a nice variety of holiday stamps in stock, so visit us any day until Christmas Eve to get your fix of fun festive stamps – and stay tuned for each of our daily deals!

Can’t  make it in to the shop? No problem! We are happy to do credit card payments over the phone on the day of the deal. Don’t forget – we’re closed on Sundays and we’re also closed on Christmas Eve.

Tags of Christmas – Day 1

Now for our first tag…

Rae Lynn’s Christmas Tag

RLOKtag

RLOKtagCloseup
I cut a reindeer using my Silhouette Cameo then inked it with clear VeraMark ink, sprinkled copper embossing powder over the reindeer, and heat the embossing powder. I repeated the ink/copper powder/heating process about four times to get a thick embossed layer.

Next I inked the tag with a foam blending tool, which was cut from watercolour paper, with four colours of Distress Ink (Tumbled Glass, Broken China, Salty Ocean, and Chipped Sapphire).

I tapped some large and medium-sized drops of Antique Bronze Distress Spray Stain and misted with water. I heat-set the tag with my embossing gun and got some great “metallic splotches”. I loved the Antique Bronze spray so much that I tap-tapped another layer of metallic ink over the entire tag. Side note: Sara played with these Distress sprays at the Paperie Fall retreat and I was sitting next to her while she was testing/playing. All I heard was ‘ooohs’ and ‘ahhhs’ about the metallic sprays. They are so pretty! I’ll be the first to admit that I own lots of sprays/mists but the metallic Distress Spray Stains are so shiny AND they react with water as do all other Distress products.)

I stamped Believe on another piece of inked watercolour paper and embossed it in copper. The simple font of the Believe stamp is just lovely. The Paperie has a big bin of Christmas stamps (for only $1.50 each) and there is a great selection to choose from. I picked up a few extras stamps for stocking stuffers for my nieces.

I trimmed the Believe paper into a small banner and then inked the edges of the banner using my Copper Wink of Luna brush marker. You all know how much I loved my glittery Wink of Stella pens and I just couldn’t pass up the metallic Wink of Luna brush pens, which come in nine metallic colours.

I adhered the Believe banner to the bottom of the tag and adhered the reindeer using pop-dots. I added some sequins (brown, copper, bronze) with mini glue dots.

I then went hunting in my ribbon stash and found a piece of ribbon with blue/brown/bronze – what are the chances?! I wrapped the ribbon with metallic gold twine but the gold stood out too much, so I used the Copper Wink of Luna brush pen to change the colour of the twine – see those brush pens are just awesome.

And there you have it. A Christmas tag is an easy way to add a “touch of handmade” to any present.

Happy Holidays everyone. I hope your holiday season is filled with lots of laughter and cheer.

…Rae Lynn

Here are the supplies that used – all can be purchased/ordered at The Paperie.

  • VersaMark Ink
  • Copper Embossing Powder
  • Embossing Heat Gun
  •   Adhesive
  • Distress Inks
  • Foam Blending Tool
  • Distress Spray Stain (Antique Bronze)
  • Water Mister
  • Studio G ‘Believe’ Stamp
  • Sequins
  • Gold Twine
  • Wink of Luna (copper)

Thanks for playing along Rae Lynn – love your tag!

Mojo Monday

And finally that brings us to Mojo Monday… let’s kick off the season of giving with a prize challenge!

Your challenge this week is to share ANY recent holiday-themed project in our Mojo Monday Gallery. Submit your project by Sunday, December 7th at 11:59pm for a chance to win a fun prize. To submit simply upload your photos to our Mojo Monday Gallery on Facebook or comment here with a link to your blog or online gallery – you may also choose to email or drop by the store with a picture of your project. Cards, art journal pages, scrapbook layouts, mini albums, drawings – we’d love to see it all!

Happy Holidays!
The Paperie

Leave a Comment

