Merry Christmas! – 3D Ornaments

Merry Christmas all!

We had some fantastic ornaments & tags made by our designers over the month of December and thought we would show you how to make one of them today.  I may actually make a few for the table for the Boxing Day festivities here at my place.  Thank-you to Rae Lynn for this project and this blog post.  Here’s Rae Lynn:

3D Star Ornaments

I have a “thing” for stars and they are one of my favourite ornament shapes. I saw three-dimensional (3D) paper ornaments on Pinterest and happened to mention them to Wendy. Low and behold – she had the 3D star die! So I asked to borrow it.

The die is the Tim Holtz Sizzix Die 3-D STAR BRIGHT Bigz 658265.

  1. I picked out a pattern paper with music notes and cut it into four 6×6 pieces. (You get two double-sided (dimensional) stars from one sheet of 12×12 paper.)
  2. I ran the die/paper through the Big Shot*. The die cuts out an odd shape – the five points of the star with a tab on one side of every point. The die also creates fold/score lines in the star.

Figure 1

(* I’m hoping Santa is bringing me one of these for Christmas. I’ve been a really good girl this year. I swear, really good! I love my Silhouette Cameo but I like the flexibility that a Big Shot offers for die cutting, embossing folders, and letterpress printing Letterpress is the next big thing I want to learn.)

  1. Next, I folded each point of the star completely in half along the score lines. (At this point, don’t worry about the “peaks and valleys” that make the star dimensional. Just fold each of the five points in half along the score lines.)

Figure 2

Figure 3

  1. Add Distress Ink to each of the five folds lines (with a foam applicator) to bring out the dimension of the star.)
  2. Fold each of the tabs toward the back of the star.

Figure 4

Figure 5

  1. Next I gently folded each point, towards its adjacent point. This helps create the valleys between each pair of adjacent points.
  2. Repeat the steps for the second star.
  3. Lay one of the stars flat on a table (with the music note side facing down) and the tabs facing up.
  4. Lay the second star (with the music note side facing up) and the tabs facing down. You will notice that each point now has a tab on either side of the point.
  5. Carefully add glue or adhesive to each tab.
  6. You will have a flat star at first, but as the glue/adhesive dries, you can “push each point inward” to add dimension – the center of the stars pops right out on both sides.
  7. When the glue is completely dry, shape the star.
  8. I added glue around the perimeter of the star (where the edges meet) and glittered each edge. This glitter/glue combination seals the seam and makes the star sturdier.)

Figure 6

  1. When the glue and glitter were completely dry, I punch a small hole in the top of one point and thread some thin jute twine through the hole. I stamped a Christmas sentiment, cut it out, punched another small hole and added it to the just twine.
  2. I added small wood veneer star that I coloured with my black Wink of Stella brush pen.

 

Voila! A pretty paper star. I love them. (If I don’t hoard these, my sister may get a few of these for Christmas.)

Merry Christmas Everyone!

Leave a Comment

