January Page kit – Rae Lynn’s take

Hi Everyone!

Rae Lynn joined us this month; here are her projects for the January page kit:

Layout 1: Days Like This Make Me Smile

L1-1 Days Like This Make Me Smile

L1-2 Days Like This Make Me Smile

When I was looking through my stack of pictures I found a few Instagram pictures of Ali and I at a Paperie card class last fall. The colours in her sweater were the jumping off point for this layout so I picked the bright pink cardstock and the grey/white polka dot paper. I cut the grey/white dot paper down to 11×11 and adhered it to the pink cardstock. I then rolled/tore/distressed the edges of the paper to get some dimension. I used washi tape from my stash to create an anchor line on the page. I stamped the title using an old Ali Edwards stamp. This kit includes an awesome pack of six Echo Park Flair Buttons. I used five of the six flair buttons on my pages. I added the cute pink flair badge with the star for the main embellishment, some glitter buttons from my stash, and a few of the glitter triangles from the kit’s Doodlebug Design Sprinkles package. A few lines of journaling about the awesome afternoon making cards together at the Paperie and this page was done in no time.

Layout 2: So Much Love To Go Around

L2-1 So Much Love To Go Around

L2-2 So Much Love To Go Around

L2-3 So Much Love To Go Around

L2-4 So Much Love To Go Around

L2-5 So Much Love To Go Around

Frank’s Mom sent me this cute picture of Frank that was taken nearly 40 years ago and I love it. I printed the 4×4 photo on my Canon Selphy printer to mimic an Instagram picture (I have a thing for Instagram!). The teal green cardstock included in the kit was a perfect mat for the picture (it matched his pajamas). I then cut some larger rectangles of paper from the other pattern papers in the kit and polka dot vellum. I adhered the vellum first (using pop dots) because I wanted to tuck my hidden journal card underneath. I journaled on the ledger/account paper included in the kit. Then I layered the seafoam green paper, multi-coloured diagonal stripe, and my matted photo. For embellishments, I used the little heart from barcode on the Shimmelle paper, a flair button, and a word strip from the Teresa Collins Journaling Snippets. For my title, I used some Heidi Swapp green mist to colour the Love die-cut and added the remainder of the title using the Jillibean Soup Mini Alphas.

Layout 3: Smiles

L3-1 Smiles

L3-2 Smiles

L3-3 Smiles

I cut the pink/teal block paper down to 10.25 x 7.25 and inked the edges with blank ink. I cut a 1 x 10.25 black strip of paper, and then adhered the heart strip (from a barcode strip) on the black paper. I always look at the barcode for tidbits and strips of paper that can be used on my layouts. Usually, there is a cute shape, some words, or colours that can be used. So take a look at the barcode strips before tossing them. I matted my B&W picture with the teal green cardstock and inked the edges as well. See that “black bracket” to the left of the picture – well, that was on the bottom of the Teresa Collins Journaling Snippets, so I used it to add that touch of black that I need. The Smiles title was from stash, and I added the flair button from the kit. For my journaling, I simply drew five lines and added numbers from the Jillibean Soup Mini Alphas. To finish the page, I added a black border around the perimeter of the page with a black marker. Super simple page.

Layout 4: Love You

L4-1 Love You

L4-2 Love You

I loved the triangle kraft/white paper included in the kit. I grabbed a picture of Frank and Digit and some of the seafoam green paper to start pulling this page together. I cut the green ledger/accounting paper into a 6×6 square and adhered that to the page. I sanded the edges of the seafoam green paper and my photo. I cut a strip of the vellum and another barcode to anchor my photo. The Love Love Love strip at the top of the page is yet another barcode. The corrugated kraft alphas are from my letter sticker stash (I think they are American Crafts). I added the Note flair button, and a few hearts from my stash and a little “love this” journaling snippet.

Layout 5: Happy

L5-1 Happy

L5-2 Happy

L5-3 Happy

I have to admit that the purple cardstock in the kit threw me off – it is not a colour that I use (ever)! But I wanted to make it work. I found a picture of Aliceyn and myself, where the background of the picture has a purple tone. So I was off to the races (sort of). The @happy is printed directly on the picture, which I added using the Beautiful Mess app on my cell phone. The Inbox Crate Paper with the thin diagonal lines had a little bit of purple in it so I selected that as my layout base. That same paper has yellow, grey, and seafoam green in it as well. So I cut a 6.5×6.5 square piece of the polka dot vellum (the dots are gold/yellow) as my anchor paper and to mute the diagonal lines of the background paper a little. Next I cut that purple cardstock… then cut it down some more… (purple is just not me – LOL)… and maybe a little more cutting. The piece ended up being 3.5×4 (so I really didn’t use a lot of it). I adhered it to the vellum and added my picture. But the layout needed something more. I search through my stash and found a yellow canvas frame that had “happy life” on it… which went with the @happy that was already on my picture. So I layered in the frame. I used some of the silver glitter arrows from the DoodleBug Sprinkles, a journaling snippet (that says “you are my happy”), and a green/grey check mark flair button from the kit. Finally, I added some journaling around the perimeter of the vellum. Honestly, not my favourite layout – but we all do pages we don’t love. Again, purple is just not my colour. But it is a page done, and I love the cuddles with Ali and that is what scrapbooking is about. The memories that are documented – the paper and embellishments are just there to add to the story.

Home Décor: Joy

L6-1 Joy

L6-2  Joy.JPG

So this kit included beautiful silver things – POW paper, DoodleBug Sprinkles, and Letter Stickers. I worked on this kit back in November at the Fall Retreat and the silver seemed so Christmasy and Wintery that I felt like hoarding them for some projects in December. I purchased a beautiful JOY cut file for my Silhouette Cameo around Christmas 2013. When I saw the silver POW paper I knew I would use the JOY cut file to create a piece for this past Christmas. Using my Silhouette, I cut it out of the silver POW paper, added it to a darker grey POW paper and them framed it for a piece for Christmas. So, so pretty. I got lots of compliments on it.

Beautiful projects Rae Lynn! Thanks for joining us this month.

If you’re interested in subscribing to our kits give us a call – quantities are limited.

Wendy Signature

3 thoughts on “January Page kit – Rae Lynn’s take

Leave a Comment

